The Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) Committee

The purpose of the P&T Committee is to evaluate the relative safety, efficacy, and effectiveness of prescription drugs within a class of drugs and make recommendations to the state on the development of the Washington State Preferred Drug List. The committee also serve as the Medicaid Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board as required by federal law.

P&T Committee/Medicaid DUR Board members

Peter Barkett, MD

(Term 2023 - 2025)

Dr. Barkett is board certified in Internal Medicine and has practiced in the hospital, subacute and ambulatory settings. He sees patients at Kaiser Permanente in Kitsap County, has worked with the KPWA pharmacy and therapeutics committee and has served as chief of KPWA’s outpatient Internal Medicine department.

Laura Beste, PharmD, BCGP

(Term 2022 - 2024)

Laura Beste is a clinical pharmacist at MultiCare Health systems in Tacoma providing care for the community at Allenmore Hospital. Laura is a board-certified geriatric pharmacist as well as a Clinical Assistant Professor with the University of Washington School of Pharmacy and a preceptor for Washington State University School of Pharmacy. She is a member of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Virginia Buccola, DNP, ARNP

(Term 2018 - 2023)

Dr. Virginia Buccola-Tournay is a Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner at Greater Lakes Mental Health Care in Lakewood where she provides psychiatric medication management for children and adults and serves as the Manager of Medical Services. She has a specialty focus in Perinatal and Early Childhood Mental Health. She has many years of nursing experience in Community Health, Maternal-Child Health, and Adult Inpatient Mental Health. She is an adjunct faculty with the University of Washington School of Nursing and active with AAPPN, the professional organization for psychiatric nurse practitioners.

Michael Corsilles, PA-C

(Term 2021-2024)

Dr. Corsilles practices family medicine at Vida Integrated Health in Bellevue. He is a naturopathic physician and a physician assistant practicing functional medicine in primary care. He is also a preceptor for the University of Washington's physician assistant program and an attending physician for Bastyr University's residency program at Vida Integrated Health.

Kavita Chawla, MD, FACP, MHA (Vice-Chair)

(Term 2021-2024)

Dr. Chawla is a practicing internist at Virginia Mason Franciscan Health. She leads Virginia Mason Education Committee for ongoing, evidence-based clinical education for all Primary Care Providers. She is a faculty member for Virginia Mason Internal Medicine residents and Clinical Instructor for University of Washington medical students. She has a special interest in promoting and practicing equitable, high-value, cost-effective and evidence-informed care.

Dimitry Davydow, MD

(Term 2023-2025)

Dr. Davydow is a board certified psychiatrist with sub-specialty certification in consultation-liaison psychiatry. He is the Chief Medical Officer of Comprehensive Life Resources, a community mental health organization serving individuals living with serious mental illnesses in Pierce County. In this role, Dr. Davydow has been responsible for integration of primary care into comprehensive treatment for patients in addition to patient care as well as oversight and mentoring of psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse practitioners. He was previously a member of the faculty of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Washington, where he taught medical students and residents as well as engaged in clinical research focusing on the bidirectional relationship of mental health with various acute and chronic medical conditions.

Kevin Flynn, PharmD, MBA, BCPS

(Term 2023-2025)

Kevin Flynn is the Director of Pharmacy Purchasing for UW Medicine. He is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist and a member of the United States Army Reserves, where he serves as a Pharmacy Officer with the 396th Field Hospital. He is a member of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Jon MacKay, PharmD

(Term 2022 - 2024)

Dr. MacKay is a Board Certified Ambulatory Care Pharmacist and Pharmacy Director for the Native Project, an Urban Indian Health Clinic in Spokane. His practice experience includes working in ambulatory care with indigenous populations in rural and urban locations in the Northwest as well as Federally Qualified Community Health Centers. He is also a current voting P&T member for the Texas Association of Community Health Centers (TACHC), a Group Purchasing Organization. He has a special interest working with underserved and indigenous communities in the Northwest.

Alexander Park, MD (Chair)

(Term 2018 - 2023)

Dr. Park is the Associate Medical Director for Care Management of the US Family Health Plan at Pacific Medical Centers (Seattle WA), where he is also a board-certified practicing internist. As a certified physician builder in the Epic EMR, he has led quality improvement initiatives at Pacific Medical Centers promoting the accuracy of medication reconciliation for patient safety. He teaches medical students and residents from the University of Washington and is active on the clinical faculty of the UW School of Medicine Division of General Internal Medicine.

Christy Weiland, PharmD, BCPS

(Term 2023 - 2025)

Christy Weiland is a faculty pharmacist at East Pierce Family Medicine Residency and serves as a coordinator to an ambulatory care pharmacy residency. Christy is a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist and practices with collaborative practice agreements to manage chronic conditions within MultiCare Health system. Additionally, Christy is Clinical Assistant Professor with University of Washington (UW) School of Pharmacy and UW School of Medicine. Lastly, Christy has a passion for mentorship and chairs the mentorship committee for the UW Pharmacy Alumni Association.