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Age of consent for behavioral health treatment 
in Washington 
Overview  

According to Washington law, a minor who is 13 

years old or older may initiate an evaluation and 

treatment for outpatient and/or inpatient mental 

health services, substance use disorder (SUD) 

treatment, or withdrawal management without 

parental consent. The minor has the right to receive 

services in the least restrictive setting. A youth is 

admitted for inpatient treatment only if the 

professional in charge of the facility concurs with the 

need for treatment and the youth meets criteria for 

this level of care.   

Behavioral health treatment 
Outpatient treatment 

Any minor 13 years old or older may receive 

outpatient mental health and/or SUD treatment 

without the consent of the minor's parent/guardian 

 

Inpatient/residential treatment 

A minor13 years old or older may admit themselves 

to an evaluation and treatment (E&T) facility, 

inpatient mental health treatment, or inpatient SUD 

treatment program without parental consent. The 

professional person in charge determines if the 

minor needs inpatient treatment. The administrator 

of the treatment facility provides notice to the 

parent(s) of a minor when the minor is voluntarily 

admitted to inpatient treatment within 24 hours. Any 

minor voluntarily admitted may give notice of intent 

to leave at any time.  

 

Involuntary Treatment Act (ITA) 
Ricky’s Law became effective April 1, 2018, 

integrating detention and commitment processes for 

mental health and SUD by incorporating SUD into 

RCW 71.05 and RCW 71.34.  

 

If a minor is brought to an E&T facility, secure 

withdrawal management facility with available space, 

or hospital emergency room, the professional person 

in charge shall evaluate the minor. If it is determined 

the minor suffers from a mental health and/or SUD, is 

in need of immediate inpatient treatment, and the 

minor is unwilling to consent to treatment, a 

designated crisis responder (DCR) can evaluate the 

minor and commence initial detention proceedings if 

minor meets criteria. The facility must inform the 

minor’s parent or guardian of the availability of 

Parent Initiated Treatment (PIT) as well.  

Parent Initiated Treatment (PIT) 
A parent or guardian may bring their minor child to 

an outpatient behavioral health provider, E&T, 

inpatient facility, secure withdrawal management 

facility, or approved SUD treatment program 

requesting an assessment to determine if the minor is 

in need of mental health and/or SUD treatment. The 

consent of the minor is not required. If a parent or 

guardian requests the youth be discharged under PIT, 

the treatment agency must discharge the youth. No 

provider is obligated to provide treatment to a minor 

under the provisions of PIT. 

 

Eligibility requirements  
Minors 13-17 years of age.   

Authority  
RCW 71.34  

Budget  
Behavioral health services for minors are considered 
a covered service under Medicaid, and are authorized 
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based on determination that the minor meets 
medical necessity criteria to receive mental health, 
SUD, or co-occurring treatment services.   
 
Partners 
Youth, parent or guardian; behavioral health 

organizations (BHOs), managed care organizations 

(MCOs), behavioral health administrative services 

organizations (BH-ASOs), mental health and SUD 

treatment providers, hospitals, school-based 

professionals, the Department of Children, Youth and 

Families (DCYF).  

 
For more information 

 Mandy Huber, Children’s Behavioral Health 
Administrator Mandy.Huber@hca.wa.gov                                                       
360-725-2076 

 Amanda Lewis, Adolescent Substance Use 
Disorder, Co-occurring Treatment Lead                                  
Amanda.Lewis@hca.wa.gov                                                       
360-725-9411 

 
 

 


