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Behavioral Health FAQs 
Get help now 
What do I do if my loved one or I have an emergent mental health problem? 
To access emergency/crisis services: 

• For a life-threatening emergency, call 911 
• For 24-hour suicide prevention or a mental health crisis, call or text 988 
• For substance use, problem gambling, or mental health support, contact the Washington Recovery Help 

Line at (866)789-1511 

For more information including regional crisis lines, crisis lines by county, and what may happen when you call a 
crisis line please visit HCA’s Mental health crisis lines webpage at hca.wa.gov/mental-health-crisis-lines. 

Behavioral health laws  
What are the requirements for timely access to care?  
A statute called “Brennen’s Law” (RCW 48.43.765) requires health plans to “prominently” place the following 
information on their websites in an easily understandable and obtainable format: 

• Whether behavioral health treatment is covered as primary or specialty care 
• Tools and resources to help find available providers 
• The number of business days within which the plan must ensure the member has an appointment 

scheduled 
• Information on what the member can do if they are unable to access covered behavioral health 

treatment within that timeframe 
• Resources for people experiencing a behavioral health crisis, including the national suicide prevention 

lifeline 

For non-urgent covered mental health and substance use disorder treatment, an appointment must be made 
available for PEBB members within 10 business days of an appointment request, or within 15 business days if 
the member needs a referral or the service is covered as specialty care. 

If the member is unable to schedule an appointment within these time limits, their health plan must assist the 
member with scheduling an appointment. (WAC 284-170-200 (13)(b)(iii); WAC 284-170-300 (13)(c)(ii)). 

Important note: The law requires scheduling of the appointment to happen within these time 
limits. The appointment itself can be for a later date.   

What is the age limit for sharing patient information with parents or guardians? 
In Washington state, youth ages 13 and older can get behavioral health services without their parent’s consent. 
As a parent or family member, you may want to support your youth in starting treatment. Encouraging youth to 
seek services voluntarily is the best first step. If a youth enters treatment under Family Initiated Treatment (FIT), 
parents or caregivers can withdraw their consent at any time. When that happens, the youth will either be 
discharged or need to transition to voluntary or involuntary treatment. For more details about FIT, visit HCA’s 
Family initiated treatment webpage at hca.wa.gov/fit. 

https://www.hca.wa.gov/free-or-low-cost-health-care/i-need-behavioral-health-support/mental-health-crisis-lines
https://www.hca.wa.gov/free-or-low-cost-health-care/i-need-behavioral-health-support/family-initiated-treatment-fit
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How do I get help for someone who is not willing to go to treatment but is a harm to 
themselves and others?  
The involuntary treatment act (ITA) process may be initiated for those ages 13 years and older within 
Washington state. An individual is typically referred by family members, first responders, care givers, or medical 
providers for an ITA evaluation. ITA referrals arise from concerns regarding an individual’s safety, history, and 
presentation of mental disorder or substance use disorder. More information is available on the following HCA 
webpages and fact sheet from hca.wa.gov: 

• Ricky’s Law: Involuntary Treatment Act  
• Assisted outpatient treatment (AOT)  
• How to file a petition for initial involuntary detention of a family member (Joel’s Law fact sheet) 

Behavioral Health Services  
How do I get behavioral health services and where do I start? 
Step 1: Talk to your primary care provider. They can help you create a treatment plan that fits your needs, 

recommend specialized mental health providers, and connect you with resources available in the 
meantime. If you don’t have a primary care provider, you can use your medical plan’s provider search 
tool or contact your medical plan.  

Step 2: Contact your medical plan to find available providers that work with your insurance. You can find your 
plan’s contact information on the back of your insurance ID card. If you don’t have your ID card handy, 
you can visit the PEBB Contact the plans webpage hca.wa.gov/employees-contact-plan. 

Step 3: Schedule your appointment. Your plan’s customer service can help you with this. 

Will my health plan cover different therapies at the same time? 
You can typically use multiple therapy modalities at the same time, such as talk therapy and medication 
management with a psychiatrist, as this can provide a more comprehensive approach to managing behavioral 
health conditions and their symptoms. Most insurance plans will cover both as long as you are seeing qualified 
network providers and the services are medically necessary. You can contact your medical plan to verify 
coverage and any limitations. 

Can my PEBB insurance be used to get Naloxone from the pharmacy?  
Yes, PEBB members can use their insurance to get Naloxone (also known as Narcan) from the pharmacy. 
Although it is a covered prescription drug, you may still have to pay a copay or coinsurance and meet your 
deductible. To get Naloxone, you need a prescription from your provider. In place of a prescription, you can use 
the Statewide Standing Order to Dispense Naloxone on the Department of Health’s website at doh.wa.gov. 

How do I decide which provider or type of therapy is right for me?  
Start with your primary care provider. They should be familiar with available resources in your area and can 
make a recommendation on where to start.  

Therapy takes time to work, but if you feel the modality you’ve chosen to start with isn’t right for you, share 
those concerns with your doctor and/or therapist. They may be able to recommend other options or implement 
a different approach to your care.  

Will my health plan cover telehealth or other self-care apps for behavioral health?  
All PEBB medical plans cover virtual behavioral health visits and some self-care apps. More information about 
coverage for these services can be found on your medical plan’s website.   

https://www.hca.wa.gov/about-hca/programs-and-initiatives/behavioral-health-and-recovery/ricky-s-law-involuntary-treatment-act
https://www.hca.wa.gov/about-hca/programs-and-initiatives/behavioral-health-and-recovery/assisted-outpatient-treatment-aot
https://www.hca.wa.gov/assets/free-or-low-cost/joels-law-fact-sheet.pdf
https://www.hca.wa.gov/employee-retiree-benefits/public-employees/contact-plans
https://doh.wa.gov/sites/default/files/legacy/Documents/Pubs/150-127-StatewideStandingOrderToDispenseNaloxone.pdf
http://www.doh.wa.gov/
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