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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop 32-26-72

Baltimore, Maryland 272M-1,850 crvrs
c[Nrrns roR MCÞtcA¡Ê & MfDrc rD stnvrcfs

CENIER FOR MEDICAID & CII¡P SERV¡CES

FinancÍal Management Group

December 3,2019

Susan Birch, Director
MaryAnne Lindeblad, Medicaid Director
Health Care Authority
626 81h Avenue SE
Post Office Box 45502
Olympia, V/ashington 98504-5502

RE: State Plan Amendment (SPA) WA-19-0028

Dear Ms. Birch and Ms. Lindeblad:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-A of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number l9-0028. This amendment clarifies that the per case

reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services was eliminated upon CMS approval of
the diagnosis-related group (DRG) reimbursement methodology through SPA WA l8-0029
(approved December 14, 2018).

\iVe conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2),1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the
implementing Federal regulations at42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that
Medicaid State plan amendment l9-0028 is approved effective as of October 1,2019. We are

enclosing the CMS-I79 and the amended approved plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Tom Couch at (208) 861-9838.

Sincerely

Kristin Fan
Director

cc:
Hamilton Johns
James Moreth
Tom Couch



DEPARTMENT OF HEÀLTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OFAPPROVAL OF
STA.TE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR¡ HEALTII CÁRE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

HEALTH CARÈ }'INANCING ADMINISTRATION
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN

5. TYPE

NEW STATE ?LAN

FORM APPROVED

Washington

TITLE XIX OF THE
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

4. PROPOSEÐ EFFECTryE DATE
October 1,2019

AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN AMENDMENT

a. FFY 2020 $0
b. FFY 2021 $0

9, PAGR NUMBER OF TIIE SUPERSEDËD PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (IÍ Arylic¿ble)l

Attacbment 4.19-A Part l, page 3, 4, 15,20,23,24

CITATION:
1902(a) ofthe Social Security Act

8. PÄGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:

Attachment 4,19-A Part 1, page 3, 4, 15,20,23,24

IO. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

Update References to the Per Case Rate

1. TR.ANSMITTAL
19-0028

I l. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Checlc one)l

13.

Lindeblad
14. TITLE:
Director
15. DATE SUBMITTED:

21, TYPED NAME:
ris h vr

GO\ERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
COMMENTS OF GOVËRNOR'S OF}'ICË DNCT,OSF,D
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OT SUBMITTAL

X oTHER, As SPECIFIED: Exempt

TO:
Ann Myers
Rules and Publications
Division of lægal Services
Health Care Authority
626 8d' Ave SE MS:42716
Olympia, WA 98504-2716

USE ONLY
18. DATE A?PRO\¡ED:

Dtrrctor

0s

V^JA

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92)



REVTSTON 08-22-07 ATTACHMENT 4,,19-A
Part I, Page 3

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State WASHINGTON

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING
PAYMENT RATES FOR INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES (cont.)

f NTRODUCTION (cont.)

Other payment methods used include f¡xed per diem, cost settlement, per case rate
(effect¡ve August 1, 2017, through September 30, 2018, onlyfor Medicaid agency-approved
bar¡atric surgery), disproportionate share hospital (DSH), and proportionate share hospital.
All are prospective payment methods except the cost settlement payment method used to
re¡mburse cr¡t¡cal access hospitals. The DRG, "full cost," perdiem, and RCC payment
methods are augmented by trauma care payment methods at state-approved trauma
centers. The trauma care enhancement provides reimbursement to Level l, ll, and lll
trauma centers through lump-sum supplemental payments made quarterly.

A fixed per diem payment method is used ¡n conjunct¡on with the LTAC program. A cost
seftlement payment method is used to reimburse hospitals participating in the state's Title
XIX Cr¡tical Access Hospital (CAH) program.

Effective for adm¡ssions on and after July 1, 2005, part¡cipating public hosp¡tals located in
the State of Washington that are not Agency-approved and DOH-certified as CAH, are
paid using the "full cost" payment method for inpatient covered services as determined
through the Medicare Cost Report, us¡ng the Agency's Medicaid RCC to determine cost.
Each public hospital district, for ¡ts respective non-CAH partic¡pating public hosp¡tal
district hospital(s), the Harborview Medical Center, and the Un¡versity of Washington
Medical Center, provide cert¡fied public expenditures which represent the costs of the
patients' med¡cally necessâry care.

A hospital may opt-out of the ¡npatient "Full Cost" Payment Program if the hospital meets
the cr¡teriâ for the inpatient rate enhancement under Wash¡ngton Administrative Code
(WAC) 182-550-3830 or is not eligible for public hospital disproportionate share hosp¡tal
(PHDSH) payments under WAC 182-550-5400, To opfout, the hospital mustsubmita
wr¡tten request to opt-out to the agency's Chief Financial Off¡cer by July 1st ¡n order to be
effect¡ve for January 1"t of the following year

Hospitals and services exempt from the DRG payment methods are reimbursed under the
per diem; per case rate (effective August 1 , 2017, through September 30, 2018, only);
RCC, "full cost"; cost settlement; or f¡xed per diem payment method for dates of
admission on or after August 1,2007 . For dates of admiss¡on before August 1 , 2007,
reimbursement is under RCC, "full cost" methods, and a base community psychiatric
hospitalization payment rate used to determine the allowable for certain psychiatric
claims.

TN# 19-0028
Supersedes
TN# 15-0015

Approval Date DE(] 0 S 20lg Efrective Date 10/1/19



REV|S|ON 08-22-07 ATTACHMENT 4,19-A
Part I, Page 4

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State WASHINGTON

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING
PAYMENT RATES FOR INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES (cont.)

B. DEFINITIONS

The terms used in this plan are intended to have their usual mean¡ngs unless specifically defined in

this sectron or otherw¡se ¡n the plan. Allowed covered charges, where mentioned in this attachment
to the state plan, refers to the Agency-covered charges on a claim that are used to determine any
kind of reimbursement for medically necessary care.

Accommodation and Anc¡llary Costs
Accommodation costs: the expense of providing such serv¡ces as regular room, special care room,
d¡etary and nursing serv¡ces, medical and surgical supplies, medical social services, psychiatr¡c
social serv¡ces, and the use of certain equipment and facilities for which a separate charge is not
customar¡ly made.

Anc¡llary costs: the expense of providing such services as laboratory, radiology, drugs, delivery room
(including maternity labor room), and operating room (including anesthesia and postoperative
recovery rooms). Ancillary services may also include other special ¡tems and services.

Adverse Events
Adverse events (also known as "adverse health events" or "never events" and effective July 1, 201 I ,

known for Medicaid claims as "other provider preventable conditions") are the events that must be
reported to the Wash¡ngton State Department of Health (DOH) under WAC 246-320-146 ¡n effect as
of January 1, 2010. These serious reportable events are clearly ident¡fiable, preventable, and serious
in their consequences for patients, and frequently their occurrence is influenced by the pol¡cies and
procedures of the healthcare organization.

Agency
Agency refers to the State Medicaid Agency.

Alcoholism and Drug Add¡ct¡on Treatment and Support Act (ADATSA)
ADATSA is a program that provides a continuum ofcare to persons who are indigent and considered
unemployable as a result of alcoholism and/or other drug addiction.

Bar¡atr¡c Surgery Case Rafe
The bariatric surgery per case rate is a cost-based rate used to pay a hospital that is prior
authorized by the Agency to provide bar¡atric surgery related services to an eligible medical
assistance client for those services (effective August 1 , 2017, through September 30, 2018, only).

Base CommunW Psych¡atric Hospitalization Payment Rate
For admissions before August 1 , 2007 , the base community psychiatric hospitalization payment
rate is a minimum per diem allowable calculated for claims for psychiatric services provided to
covered patients, to pay hospitals that accept comm¡tments under the state's ¡nvoluntary
treatment act.

Case-M¡x lndex (CMI)
Case-m¡x ¡ndex means a measure of the costliness of cases treated by a hospital relative to the cost
of the average of all Medica¡d hospital cases, using DRG weights as a measure of relative cost.

TN# 19-0028
Supersedes
TN# 1 1-20

Approval Date l]Fr 0 S Z0lg
Etfective Date 10i 1/19



REV|S|ON 08-22-07 ATTACHMENT 4.19-A
Part I, Page 15

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State WASHINGTON

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING
PAYMENT RATES FOR INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES (cont.)

C. GENERAL REIMBURSEMENT POLICIES (cont.)

4. DRG Low Cost Outlier Payments

Low cost outliers are cases with dates ol admission before August 1, 2007, with
extraordinar¡ly low costs when compared to other cases in the same DRG. To qualiry as a
DRG low cost outlier, the allowed charges for the case must be equal to or less than the
greater of 10 percent of the applicable DRG payment or $450. Reimbursement for these
cases is the case's allowed charges multiplied by the hospital's RCC.

5. DRG Long-Stay Day Outlier Payments

Day Outlier payments are applicable for cases with dates of admission before August 1,

2007. Day outlier payments are included only for long-stay clients, underthe age of six in
disproportionate shaÍe hospitals, and for children under age one in any hospital. (See C.16
Day Outlier payments).

6. Non DRG payment method payments

Hosp¡tals and services exempt from the DRG payment method are reimbuÍsed underthe
per diem, per case rate (effect¡ve August 1, 2017, through September 30, 2018, only), fixed
per diem, RCC method, "full cost" method, CAH method, etc. For RCC and "full cost"
payments, the basic payment is established by multiplying the hosp¡tal's assigned RCC (not
to exceed 100 percent) by the allowed covered charges for medically necessary services.
Recipient responsibility (spend-down) and third pa¡ty l¡ability as identified on the billing
¡nvoice or otherwise by the Agency, is deducted from the allowed amount (basic payment) to
determine the actual payment for that admission. Other applicable adjustments may also be
made. For the "full cost" method, only the federal funds participation (FFP) percentage is
paid on the claim after all other adjustments to. the allowed amount hâve been made.

For claims w¡th admièsion dates on and after January 1, 2010, wh¡ch qualify under the per
diem payment method, the state does not pay for days of service beyond the average length
of stay (LOS) aftributable to Health Care-Acquired Conditions (HCAC) and are coded with
Present on Admission lndicator codes "N" or "U".

For claims with admission dates on and after January '1 , 2010, which qualify under the CAH
payment method which uses the Departmental weighted costs to charges (DWCC) rates to
calculate payments, under the Ratio of Cost to Charges (RCC) payment method, and under
the per case payment method (effective August '1 , 2017, through September 30, 2018, only),
the stâte does not pay for serv¡ces attributable to the HCAC.

TN# l9-0028
Supersedes
TN# 11-20

Approval Date llE[ 0S ?0lg Effective Date 10/1/19



REVISION ATTACHMENT 4.19-A
Part I, Page 20

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State WASHINGTON

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESÏABLISHING
PAYMENT RATES FOR INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES (cont.)

cENERAL REIMBURSEMENT POLICIES (cont.)

8. DRG Exempt Services (cont.)

g. Serv¡ces provided in DRG class¡fications that do not have an Agency relat¡ve weight
ass,gned

For dates of admisslon before August 1 ,2007 , services prov¡ded in DRGS that do not
have an Agency relative weight assigned, that would otheMise be paid using the DRG
payment method, are re¡mbursed using the RCC, "full cosf', or cost seftlement payment
method unless a different payment method has been specified.

For dates of admission on and after August I, 2007, services provided in DRGS that do
not have an Agency relative weight assigned, are paid using one ofthe other payment
methods (e.9. RCC, per diem, per case rate (effective August 1, 2017, through
September 30, 2018 only), "full cost", or cost settlement).

h. Trauma Center Seruices

Trauma Centers are designated by the State of Washington Department of Health (DOH)
into five levels, based on level of services available. Th¡s includes Level I,thehighest
level of trauma care, through Level V, the most basic trauma care. Level of designation is
determined by spec¡f¡ed numbers of health care professionals trained in specif¡c trauma
care specialties, inventories óf specific trauma care equ¡pment, on-call and response time
m¡nimum standards, quality assurance and improvement programs, and commitment
level ofthe facility to providing trauma related prevention, education, tra¡ning, and
research services to the¡r respective commun¡ties.

Level l, ll, and lll trauma centers receive additional reimbursement from the trauma care
fund established by the State of Wash¡ngton in 1997 to improve the compensation to
designated trauma facilit¡es for care to Medicaid trauma patients. The supplemental
payment to designated hospitals is in the form of lump-sum payments made quarterly.

The Agency's annual supplemental payments to hospitals for trauma serv¡ces (inpatient
and outpatient) total eleven m¡llion dollars, ¡ncluding federal match.

The payment an eligible hospital receives from the quarterly payment pool is determined
by first summing each hospital's qual¡fying payments for trauma cases from the beginning
of the service year and expressing this amount as a percentage of total payments made
by the Agency to all Level l, ll, and lll hospitals for qualifying services prov¡ded during the
service year to date. The beginning of the serv¡ce year is def¡ned as July 1 - the state
fiscal year - for which legislative appropr¡ation is made. Each elig¡ble hospital's payment
percentage for the service year-to-date ¡s multipl¡ed by the trauma supplemental funds
ava¡lable for the service year-to-date, and then the Agency subtracts previous quarterly
payments made to the individual hospital for the service year-to-date to determine that
hospital's portion of the current quarterly payment pool.

TN# 19-0028
Supersedes
TN# 13-15

Approval out" 
|:)EC 0$ A0lg 

EffectiveDate 10/1/19



REVISION ATTACHMENT 4.19-A
Part I, Page 23

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State WASHINGTON

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING
PAYMENT RATES FOR INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVIGES (cont.l

GENERAL REIMBURSEMENT POLICIES (cont.)

12. lnpatient vs. Outpatient Stay Policy

Through October 31, 2004, stays of less than, approximating, or exceeding 24 hours where an
inpatient admission was not appropriate w¡ll be reimbursed on an outpatient basis. Stays of less
than 24 hours involving the death of the patient, transfer to another acute care hosp¡tal, a delivery, or
initial care of a newborn are considered inpatient and are reimbursed under the respective inpatient
payment method designated for the hospital and/ or the covered services. On and after November
1,2004, a new clinical-based inpatient vs. outpatient stay determination rule is in effect.

An inpatient stay is an admission to a hospital based on an evaluat¡on of the client using objectíve
clinical indicators for the purpose of providing medically necessary inpatient care, including
assessment, mon¡tor¡ng, and therapeut¡c services as required to best manage the client's illness
or injury, and that is documented in the client's med¡cal record.

13.

An outpatient hospital stay consists of outpatient hospital serv¡ces that are within a hosp¡tal's
licensure and prov¡ded to a cl¡ent who is designated as an outpatient based on an evaluation of
the cl¡ent using objective clinical indicators for the purpose of prov¡ding med¡cally necessary
ambulatory care, including assessment, mon¡toring, and therapeutic services as required to best
manage the client's illness or injury, and that is documented in the client's medical record.

Med¡care Related Policies

Med¡care crossovers refer to hospital patients who are eligible for Medicare benef¡ts and Medical
Assistance. For clients, the state considers the Medicare DRG payment to be payment in full.
The state will pay the Medicare deductible and co-insurance related to the inpatient hosp¡tal
services. Total Medicâre and Medica¡d payments to a provider cannot exceed the Agency's rates
or fee schedule as if they were paid solely by Medicaid us¡ng the payment method that would
have applied had the claim been paid by Medica¡d (i,e. DRG, RCC, per diem, or per case rate

leffective August 1 , 2017, through September 30, 2018, onlyl).

ln cases where the Medicare crossover cl¡ent's Part A benefits, including lifetime reserve days,
are exhausted, and the Medica¡d outlier threshold status is reached, the state will pay for those
allowed charges beyond the threshold using the outlier policy described in C.3. above.

The state applies the following rules for HCAC claims:
(a) lf Medicare denies payment for a claim at a higher rate for the ¡ncreased costs of care
under its HCAC or POA ¡ndicator polic¡es:

(i) The state limits payment to the maximum allowed by Medicare.
(ii) The state does not pay for care considered non-allowable by

Medicare; and
(¡ii) The client cannot be held.liable for payment,

(b) lf Medicare denies payment for a claim under ¡ts National Coverage Determination
author¡ty from Section 1862(aX1)(A) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 1935) for an
adverse health event:

(i) The state does not pay the claim, any Medicare deductible, and/or any co-
¡nsurance related to the inpatient hosp¡tal services; and

(ii) The client cannot be held liable for payment.

c.

TN# 19-0028
Supersedes
TN# 12-003

A'Proval o"'" 
t]EIì tB ?llrg

Etfect¡ve Date 10/1/19



REVISION ATTACHMENT 4.19-A
Parll, Page 24

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING
PAYMENT RATES FOR INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES (cont.)

GENERAL REIMBURSEMENT POLICIES (cONt.)

14. F¡xed Per Diem Rate

A fixed per diem rate is used to reimburse for the LTAC program.

These f¡xed per diem rates are established through identification of histor¡cal claims costs for
the respective services provided. Predeterm¡ned vendor rate adjustments are made annually
if rates are not rebased.

15. Third-Party Liability Policy

For DRc cases involving third party liab¡lity (TPL), a hospital will be re¡mbursed the lesser of
the billed amount minus the TPL payment and other appropriate deductible amounts, or the
applicable allowed amount (basic payment) for the case minus the TPL payment and other
appropr¡ate deductible amounts. For RCC, per diem, per case rate (effective August 1 ,

2017, through September 30, 2018, only), and CAH cases involving TPL, a hospital will be
reimbursed the allowed amount (basic payment) minus the TPL payment and other
appropr¡ate deductible amounts. For "full cost'cases involv¡ng TPL, a hospitalw¡ll be
reimbursed the federal match portion of the allowed amount (basic payment) minus the TPL
payment and other appropriate deduct¡ble amounts.

16. Day Outl¡ers

Section 1923(a)(2)(C) of the Act, requ¡res the state to provide payment adjustment for
hospitals for medically necessary inpatient hospital services involv¡ng exceptionally long
length of stay for individuals under the age of s¡x in d¡sproportionate share hospitals and any
hospital for a child under age one.

A hospital is elig¡ble for the day outlier payment only for dates of admission before August 1,

2OO7 and if it meets the following:
a. Any hospital serving a child under age one or is a DSH hospital and patient age is 5

or under.

b. The patient payment is DRG methodology.

c. The charge for the pat¡ent stay is under $33,000 (cost outlier threshold).

d. Pat¡ent length of stay is over the day outlier threshold for the applicable DRG.

c.

TN# 19-0028
Supersedes
TN# 11-22

Approval Date DFf {Ì$ tflß Effective Date 10/1/19




