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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

 

 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

 

CR-103P (December 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Health Care Authority 

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

☒     31 days after filing. 

☐     Other (specify)       (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should 

be stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes     ☒ No     If Yes, explain:       

Purpose: To implement the Washington Prescription Drug Pricing Transparency Program as required under Chapter 43.71C 
RCW. 

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:    182-51-0050, 182-51-0100, 182-51-0200, 182-51-0300, 182-51-0400, 182-51-0500, 182-51-0600, 182-51-
0700, 182-51-0800, 182-51-0900, 182-51-1000, 182-51-1100, 182-51-1200, 182-51-1300, 182-51-1400, 182-51-1500, 
182-51-1600, 182-51-1700,182-51-1800 
Repealed:       
Amended:       
Suspended:       

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 41.05.021, 41.05.160, and ESSHB 1224, Chapter 334, Laws of 2019 

Other authority: N/A 

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 20-15-146 on July 21, 2020 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version:  

Proposed/Adopted WAC Subsection Reason 
 

WAC 182-51-0050(3) 

Proposed (3) Reporting entities must comply with the 
authority's processes for submitting data as outlined 
in the authority's data submission guides as published 
on the authority's website. 

To clarify in rule the function 
of the data submission 
guides. 

Adopted (3) Reporting entities must comply with the 
authority's processes for submitting data as outlined 
in the authority's data submission guides as published 
on the authority's website. The authority publishes a 
data submission guide to the authority’s website, 
detailing the data elements to report as required by 
chapter 43.71C RCW, and how to submit the data. 

WAC 182-51-0100 New subsection (3) 

Proposed N/A To clarify what HCA means by 
this term as it is used in this 
chapter. 

Adopted (3) “Calendar year” means the period from January 1 
to December 31 of each year. 
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(4) "Covered drug" means…  
Because of this addition, the 
subsequent subsections were 
renumbered. 

WAC 182-51-0100(3)(a) 

Proposed (3)(a) A covered manufacturer intends to introduce to 
the market at a wholesale acquisition cost of ten 
thousand dollars or more for a course of treatment 
lasting less than one month or a thirty-day supply, 
whichever period is longer; or 

To clarify that the 
introduction to market is in 
Washington state. 

Adopted (3)(4)(a) A covered manufacturer intends to introduce 
to the market in Washington state at a wholesale 
acquisition cost of ten thousand dollars or more for a 
course of treatment lasting less than one month or a 
thirty-day supply, whichever period is longer; or 

WAC 182-51-0100(3)(b)(i) 

Proposed (3)(b) Meets all of the following: 
(i) Is currently on the market; 

To clarify that the 
introduction to market is in 
Washington state. Adopted (3)(4)(b) Meets all of the following: 

(i) Is currently on the market in Washington State; 

WAC 182-51-0100(3)(b)(iii) 

Proposed (3)(b)(iii) Has a wholesale acquisition cost of more 
than one hundred dollars for a course of treatment 
lasting less than one month or a thirty-day supply, 
and, taking into account only price increases that take 
effect after July 28, 2019, the manufacturer increases 
the wholesale acquisition cost at least: 
 
(A) Twenty percent, including the proposed increase 
and the cumulative increase over one calendar year 
before the date of the proposed increase; or 
(B) Fifty percent, including the proposed increase and 
the cumulative increase over three calendar years 
before the date of the proposed increase. 
 

To more clearly define what 
HCA means by “covered 
drug” in regards to its new 
wholesale acquisition cost. 

Adopted (3) (4)(b)(iii) Has a wholesale acquisition cost of more 
than one hundred dollars for a course of treatment 
lasting less than one month or a thirty-day supply, 
and, taking into account only price increases that take 
effect after July 28, 2019, the manufacturer increases 
the wholesale acquisition cost at least such that: 
 
(A) The new wholesale acquisition cost is twenty 
percent, including the proposed increase and the 
cumulative increase over one calendar year higher 
than the wholesale acquisition cost on the same day 
of the month, twelve months before the date of the 
proposed increase; or 
(B) The new wholesale acquisition cost is F fifty 
percent, including the proposed increase and the 
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cumulative increase over three calendar years higher 
than the wholesale acquisition cost on the same day 
of the month, thirty-six months before the date of the 
proposed increase. 

WAC 182-51-0100(7) 

Proposed (7) "Data submission guide" means the document that 
contains the required data, required format, and 
instructions on submitting the data to be reported to 
the authority for each submitter type. 

To more clearly define the 
Data Submission Guides as 
instructional documents that 
only provide guidance to 
reporting entities. Adopted (7)(8) "Data submission guide" means the document 

that contains the required data, required format, and 
instructions on submitting the data to be reported to 
the authority for each submitter type identifies the 
data required under chapter 43.71C RCW, and 
provides instructions for submitting this data to the 
authority, including guidance on required format for 
reporting, for each reporting entity. 

WAC 182-51-0100(10) 

Proposed (10) "Introduced to market" means made available for 
purchase in Washington state. 

To remove the implication 
that “introduced to market” 
means available for purchase. Adopted (10)(11) "Introduced to market" means made 

available for purchase marketed in Washington state. 

WAC 182-51-0100(11) 

Proposed (11) "New drug" means a drug for which a 
manufacturer is seeking initial approval under an 
original new drug application under 21 U.S.C. Sec. 
355(b), under an abbreviated new drug application 
under 21 U.S.C. Sec. 355(j), or under a biologics 
license application under 42 U.S.C. Sec. 262. Each 
product listed on the application must be considered 
a new drug for purposes of reporting according to 
RCW 43.71C.060. 

HCA removed the definition 
of “new drug” and replaced it 
with a definition of “pipeline 
drug” to better align with 
statute. The subsection was 
moved to maintain 
alphabetical order. 

Adopted (11) "New drug" means a drug for which a 
manufacturer is seeking initial approval under an 
original new drug application under 21 U.S.C. Sec. 
355(b), under an abbreviated new drug application 
under 21 U.S.C. Sec. 355(j), or under a biologics 
license application under 42 U.S.C. Sec. 262. Each 
product listed on the application must be considered 
a new drug for purposes of reporting according to 
RCW 43.71C.060.  
 
(14) "Pipeline drug" means a drug or biologic product 
containing a new molecular entity, not yet approved 
by the Food and Drug Administration, for which a 
manufacturer intends to seek initial approval from the 
Food and Drug Administration under an original new 
drug application under 21 U.S.C. Sec. 355(b) or under 
a biologics license application under 42 U.S.C. Sec. 262 
to be marketed in Washington State. 
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WAC 182-51-0100(14) 

Proposed (14) "Prescription drug" means a drug regulated 
under chapter 69.41 or 69.50 RCW, including generic, 
brand name, specialty drugs, and biological products 
that are prescribed for outpatient use and distributed 
in a retail setting. 

To improve clarity, HCA 
moved the clause “that are 
prescribed for outpatient use 
and distributed in a retail 
setting.” 

Adopted (14)(15) "Prescription drug" means a drug regulated 
under chapter 69.41 or 69.50 RCW that is prescribed 
for outpatient use and distributed in a retail setting, 
including generic, brand name, specialty drugs, and 
biological products that are prescribed for outpatient 
use and distributed in a retail setting. 

WAC 182-51-0100(17) 

Proposed (17) "Rebate" means negotiated price concessions, 
discounts, refunds or revenue, however 
characterized, that accrue directly or indirectly to a 
reporting entity in connection with utilization of 
prescription drugs by reporting entity members 
including, but not limited to, rebates, administrative 
fees, market share rebates, price protection rebates, 
performance-based price concessions, volume-related 
rebates or refunds, other credits, and any other 
negotiated price concessions or discounts that are 
reasonably anticipated to be passed through to a 
reporting entity during a coverage year, and any other 
form of price concession prearranged with a covered 
manufacturer, dispensing pharmacy, pharmacy 
benefit manager, rebate aggregator, group purchasing 
organization, or other party which are paid to a 
reporting entity and are directly attributable to the 
utilization of certain drugs by reporting entity 
members. 

To remove any association 
between rebates and refunds 
or revenue from the 
definition. 

Adopted (17)(18) "Rebate" means negotiated price 
concessions, discounts, refunds or revenue, however 
characterized, that accrue directly or indirectly to a 
reporting entity in connection with utilization of 
prescription drugs by reporting entity members 
including, but not limited to, rebates, administrative 
fees, market share rebates, price protection rebates, 
performance-based price concessions, volume-related 
rebates or refunds, other credits, and any other 
negotiated price concessions or discounts that are 
reasonably anticipated to be passed through to a 
reporting entity during a coverage year, and any other 
form of price concession prearranged with a covered 
manufacturer, dispensing pharmacy, pharmacy 
benefit manager, rebate aggregator, group purchasing 
organization, or other party which are paid to a 
reporting entity and are directly attributable to the 
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utilization of certain drugs by reporting entity 
members. 

WAC 182-51-0200(3) 

Proposed (3) Failure to register and provide or maintain 
accurate contact information with the authority may 
result in a reporting entity's inability to submit 
required data in compliance with this chapter and 
may result in fines as described in WAC 182-51-1100. 

To remove reference to 
punitive action being taken 
for failing to maintain 
accurate contact information. 

Adopted (3) Failure to register and provide or maintain 
accurate contact information with the authority may 
result in a reporting entity's inability to submit 
required data in compliance with this chapter and 
may result in fines as described in WAC 182-51-1100. 

WAC 182-51-0300(1) 

Proposed (1) No later than October 1st of each year, a health 
carrier must submit to the authority the prescription 
drug cost and utilization data for one or more 
previous calendar years for each health plan it offered 
in the state in the required format in accordance with 
the authority's applicable data submission guide. 

To clarify the time periods 
reporting entities are 
required to submit data and 
to clarify that the Data 
Submission Guides are only 
guidelines for submitting 
data. Adopted (1) No later than October 1st of each year 16, 2020, a 

health carrier must submit to the authority the 
prescription drug cost and utilization data for one or 
more previous calendar years calendar years 2018 
and 2019, for each health plan it offered in the 
Washington state in calendar years 2018 and 2019, 
following the guidelines set in the required format in 
accordance with the authority's applicable data 
submission guide. 

WAC 182-51-0300 New subsection (2) 

Proposed N/A To clarify reporting deadlines 
for reporting entities. 
 
The subsections were 
renumbered to compensate 
for the new subsection. 

Adopted (2) Beginning October 1, 2021, and no later than 
October 1st annually thereafter, a health carrier must 
submit to the authority the prescription drug cost and 
utilization data for the previous calendar year for each 
health plan it offered in Washington State, following 
the guidelines set in the authority’s applicable data 
submission guide. 
 
(3) A carrier may voluntarily submit… 

WAC 182-51-0300(3) 

Proposed (3) The authority may assess fines for not complying 
with the requirements in this section. See WAC 182-
51-1000. 

To fix an erroneous cross-
reference. 

Adopted (3)(4) The authority may assess fines for not 
complying with the requirements in this section. See 
WAC 182-51-10001100. 

WAC 182-51-0400(1) 
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Proposed (1) No later than March 1st of each year, a pharmacy 
benefit manager must submit to the authority all data 
specified in RCW 43.71C.030 in the required format in 
accordance with the authority's applicable data 
submission guide. 

To clarify that the Data 
Submission Guides are only 
guidelines for submitting 
data. 

Adopted (1) No later than March 1st of each year, a pharmacy 
benefit manager must submit to the authority all data 
specified in RCW 43.71C.030 in the required format in 
accordance with, following the guidelines set in the 
authority's applicable data submission guide. 

WAC 182-51-0400 New subsection (4) 

Proposed N/A To clarify that the 
information submitted 
according to this section is 
not subject to public 
disclosure. The proposed 
subsection (4) was 
renumbered to (5) to 
compensate for the new 
subsection. HCA also 
corrected an erroneous 
cross-reference in newly 
numbered subsection (5). 

Adopted 4) The information submitted according to this section 
is not subject to public disclosure under chapter 42.56 
RCW. 
 
(5) The agency may assess fines for not complying 
with the requirements in this section. See WAC 182-
51-10001100. 

WAC 182-51-0600(1) 

Proposed (1) On or before October 1, 2020, a covered 
manufacturer must submit to the authority all data 
specified in RCW 43.71C.050 and 43.71C.070 in 
accordance with the applicable data submission guide 
for each covered drug as the drug existed between 
July 28, 2019, and December 31, 2020. 

To change reporting 
deadlines for reporting 
entities and to clarify that the 
Data Submission Guides are 
only guidelines for submitting 
data. 
 Adopted (1) On or before October 1 December 31, 2020, a 

covered manufacturer must submit to the authority 
all data specified in RCW 43.71C.050 and 43.71C.070 
in accordance with, following the guidelines set in the 
authority’s applicable data submission guide for each 
covered drug as the drug existed between and 
including July 28, 2019, and December 31 August 17, 
2020. 

WAC 182-51-0600(2) 

Proposed (2) Beginning October 1, 2020, and monthly 
thereafter, a covered manufacturer must submit to 
the authority all data specified in RCW 43.71C.050 
and 43.71C.070 in accordance with the applicable 
data submission guide, for each covered drug as 
follows: 

(a) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between January 1st and 
January 31st, inclusive, is due by November 30th of 
the prior year; 

To clarify reporting deadlines 
for reporting entities, 
specifically for reporting new 
covered drugs and qualifying 
price increases for covered 
drugs. HCA also clarified that 
the Data Submission Guides 
are only guidelines for 
submitting data. 
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(b) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between February 1st and 
February 28th, or in a leap year February 29th, 
inclusive, is due by December 31st of the prior year; 

(c) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between March 1st and March 
31st, inclusive, is due by January 31st of the same 
year; 

(d) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between April 1st and April 
30th, inclusive, is due by February 28th, or in a leap 
year February 29th, of the same year; 

(e) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between May 1st and May 
31st, inclusive, is due by March 31st of the same year; 

(f) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between June 1st and June 
30th, inclusive, is due by April 30th of the same year; 

(g) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between July 1st and July 31st, 
inclusive, is due by May 31st of the same year; 

(h) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between August 1st and August 
31st, inclusive, is due by June 30th of the same year; 

(i) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between September 1st and 
September 30th, inclusive, is due by July 31st of the 
same year; 

(j) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between October 1st and 
October 31st, inclusive, is due by August 31st of the 
same year; 

(k) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between November 1st and 
November 30th, inclusive, is due by September 30th 
of the same year; and 

(l) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between December 1st and 
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December 31st, inclusive, is due by October 31st of 
the same year. 
 

Adopted (2) Beginning October 16, 2020, and monthly 
thereafter, a covered manufacturer must submit to 
the authority all data specified in RCW 43.71C.050 
and 43.71C.070 in accordance with, following the 
guidelines set in the authority’s applicable data 
submission guide, for each covered drug as follows:  

(a) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between January 1st and 
January 31st, inclusive, is due by November 30th of 
the prior year Sixty days in advance of a qualifying 
prices increase for a covered drug marketed in 
Washington State; or; 

(b) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between February 1st and 
February 28th, or in a leap year February 29th, 
inclusive, is due by December 31st of the prior year; 
Thirty days in advance of a new covered drug’s 
introduction to market in Washington State. 

(c) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between March 1st and March 
31st, inclusive, is due by January 31st of the same 
year; 

(d) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between April 1st and April 
30th, inclusive, is due by February 28th, or in a leap 
year February 29th, of the same year; 

(e) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between May 1st and May 
31st, inclusive, is due by March 31st of the same year; 

(f) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between June 1st and June 
30th, inclusive, is due by April 30th of the same year; 

(g) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between July 1st and July 31st, 
inclusive, is due by May 31st of the same year; 

(h) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between August 1st and August 
31st, inclusive, is due by June 30th of the same year; 
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(i) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between September 1st and 
September 30th, inclusive, is due by July 31st of the 
same year; 

(j) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between October 1st and 
October 31st, inclusive, is due by August 31st of the 
same year; 

(k) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between November 1st and 
November 30th, inclusive, is due by September 30th 
of the same year; and 

(l) Each report related to a covered drug 
introduced to market or a qualifying price increase 
with an effective date between December 1st and 
December 31st, inclusive, is due by October 31st of 
the same year. 
 

WAC 182-182-51-0600 New subsection (3) 

Proposed N/A To allow for the possibility 
that reporting entities may 
not be able to report the 
information required in this 
section and to give guidelines 
surrounding that possibility.  
 
The proposed subsection (3) 
was renumbered to (4) to 
compensate for the new 
subsection. 

Adopted (3) For any drug approved under section 505(j) of the 
federal food, drug, and cosmetic act as it existed on 
August 18, 2020, or a biosimilar approved under 
section 351(k) of the federal public health service act 
as it existed on August 18, 2020, if submitting data in 
accordance with subsection 2(a) of this section is not 
possible sixty days before the price increase; or if 
submitting data in accordance with subsection 2(b) of 
this section is not possible thirty days before the 
introduction to market, that submission must be 
made as soon as known but no later than the date of 
the price increase or introduction to market. 
 
(4) The information submitted…. 

WAC 182-182-51-0600(4) 

Proposed (4) The authority may assess fines for not complying 
with the requirements in this section. See WAC 182-
51-1000. 

To correct an erroneous 
cross-reference. 

Adopted (4)(5) The authority may assess fines for not 
complying with the requirements in this section. See 
WAC 182-51-10001100. 

WAC 182-51-0700 Title and (1) 

Proposed WAC 182-51-0700 Manufacturers—Notice of new 
drug applications.  (1) On or before October 1, 2020, 
a manufacturer must submit to the authority all data 
specified in RCW 43.71C.060(1) in accordance with 
the applicable data submission guide for all new drug 

To change reporting 
deadlines for reporting 
entities and to clarify that the 
Data Submission Guides are 
only guidelines for submitting 
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applications or biologic license applications submitted 
on or after October 1, 2019, through September 30, 
2020, for which the manufacturer has received an 
FDA approval date. 

data. HCA also clarified that 
this section pertains to 
biologic license applications. 

Adopted WAC 182-51-0700 Manufacturers—Notice of new 
drug applications and biologic license applications.  
(1) On or before October 1 December 31, 2020, a 
manufacturer must submit to the authority all data 
specified in RCW 43.71C.060(1) in accordance with, 
following the guidelines set in the authority’s 
applicable data submission guide for all new drug 
applications or biologic license applications for 
pipeline drugs submitted on or after October 1, 2019, 
through September 30 October 15, 2020, for which 
the manufacturer has received an FDA approval date. 

WAC 182-51-0700(2) 

Proposed (2) Beginning October 1, 2020, a manufacturer must 
submit to the authority all data specified in RCW 
43.71C.060(1) in accordance with the applicable data 
submission guide for all new drug applications or 
biologic license applications submitted on or after 
October 1, 2020, within sixty calendar days of the 
manufacturer receiving the FDA approval date as 
follows: 

(a) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between January 1st and 
January 31st, inclusive, is due by November 30th of 
the prior year; 

(b) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between February 1st and 
February 28th, or in a leap year February 29th, 
inclusive, is due by December 31st of the prior year; 

(c) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between March 1st and March 
31st, inclusive, is due by January 31st of the same 
year; 

(d) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between April 1st and April 
30th, inclusive, is due by February 28th, or in a leap 
year February 29th, of the same year; 

(e) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between May 1st and May 31st, 
inclusive, is due by March 31st of the same year; 

(f) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 

To clarify reporting deadlines 
for reporting entities and to 
clarify that the Data 
Submission Guides are only 
guidelines for submitting 
data. 
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an FDA approval date between June 1st and June 
30th, inclusive, is due by April 30th of the same year; 

(g) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between July 1st and July 31st, 
inclusive, is due by May 31st of the same year; 

(h) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between August 1st and August 
31st, inclusive, is due by June 30th of the same year; 

(i) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between September 1st and 
September 30th, inclusive, is due by July 31st of the 
same year; 

(j) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between October 1st and 
October 31st, inclusive, is due by August 31st of the 
same year; 

(k) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between November 1st and 
November 30th, inclusive, is due by September 30th 
of the same year; and 

(l) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between December 1st and 
December 31st, inclusive, is due by October 31st of 
the same year. 

Adopted 2) Beginning October 16, 2020, a manufacturer must 
submit to the authority all data specified in RCW 
43.71C.060(1) in accordance with, following the 
guidelines set in the authority’s applicable data 
submission guide for all new drug applications or 
biologic license applications for pipeline drugs 
submitted on or after October 16, 2020, within sixty 
calendar days of the manufacturer receiving the FDA 
approval date. as follows: 

(a) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between January 1st and 
January 31st, inclusive, is due by November 30th of 
the prior year; 

(b) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between February 1st and 
February 28th, or in a leap year February 29th, 
inclusive, is due by December 31st of the prior year; 
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(c) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between March 1st and March 
31st, inclusive, is due by January 31st of the same 
year; 

(d) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between April 1st and April 
30th, inclusive, is due by February 28th, or in a leap 
year February 29th, of the same year; 

(e) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between May 1st and May 31st, 
inclusive, is due by March 31st of the same year; 

(f) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between June 1st and June 
30th, inclusive, is due by April 30th of the same year; 

(g) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between July 1st and July 31st, 
inclusive, is due by May 31st of the same year; 

(h) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between August 1st and August 
31st, inclusive, is due by June 30th of the same year; 

(i) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between September 1st and 
September 30th, inclusive, is due by July 31st of the 
same year; 

(j) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between October 1st and 
October 31st, inclusive, is due by August 31st of the 
same year; 

(k) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between November 1st and 
November 30th, inclusive, is due by September 30th 
of the same year; and 

(l) All new drug applications or biologic license 
applications for which the manufacturer has received 
an FDA approval date between December 1st and 
December 31st, inclusive, is due by October 31st of 
the same year. 

WAC 182-51-0700 New subsection (3) 

Proposed N/A To clarify in rule how HCA 
determines when a new drug 
has the potential to have a 

Adopted (3) The authority considers fifty-thousand dollars per 
biennium to be a significant impact on state 
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expenditures. Reporting entities may anticipate a 
request for additional information per RCW 
43.71C.060 (3) from the authority for products 
expected to exceed fifty-thousand dollars per 
biennium. To improve efficiency in reporting, 
manufacturers who submit a new drug application or 
a biologics license application for a pipeline drug or a 
biologics license application for a biological product 
that is expected to cost the state more than fifty-
thousand dollars per biennium may submit the data 
elements in RCW 43.71C.060 (3) at the same time 
they submit the notice of the new drug application. 
 
(4) A manufacturer may limit…. 

significant impact on state 
expenditures. 
 
The proposed subsection (4) 
was renumbered to (5) to 
compensate for the new 
subsection. 

WAC 182-51-0700(4) 

Proposed (4) The agency may assess fines for not complying 
with the requirements in this section. See WAC 182-
51-1000. 

To correct an erroneous 
cross-reference. 

Adopted (4)(5) The agency may assess fines for not complying 
with the requirements in this section. See WAC 182-
51-10001100. 

WAC 182-51-0800(1) 

Proposed (1) No later than October 1st of each year, a 
pharmacy services administrative organization 
representing a pharmacy or pharmacy chain in the 
state must submit to the authority the data specified 
in RCW 43.71C.080 following the guidelines set in the 
authority's applicable data submission guide. 

To clarify reporting deadlines 
for reporting entities. 

Adopted (1) No later than October 16, 2020, and October 1st of 
each year thereafter, a pharmacy services 
administrative organization representing a pharmacy 
or pharmacy chain in the Washington state must 
submit to the authority the data specified in RCW 
43.71C.080 following the guidelines set in the 
authority's applicable data submission guide.  

WAC 182-51-0800(2) 

Proposed (2) Any pharmacy services administrative organization 
whose revenue is generated from flat service fees not 
connected to drug prices or volume, and paid by the 
pharmacy, is exempt from reporting, subject to audit 
by the authority. These organizations must petition 
the authority for exemption from the reporting 
requirements according to the frequency listed and 
the format required in the authority's applicable data 
submission guide. 

To clarify that the Data 
Submission Guides are only 
guidelines for submitting 
data. 

Adopted (2) Any pharmacy services administrative organization 
whose revenue is generated from flat service fees not 
connected to drug prices or volume, and paid by the 
pharmacy, is exempt from reporting, subject to audit 
by the authority. These organizations must petition 
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the authority for exemption from the reporting 
requirements according to the frequency listed and 
the format required formatting guidelines in the 
authority's applicable data submission guide. 

WAC 182-51-0800(3) 

Proposed (3) The authority may assess fines for not complying 
with the requirements in this section. See WAC 182-
51-1000. 

To correct an erroneous 
cross-reference. 

Adopted (3) The authority may assess fines for not complying 
with the requirements in this section. See WAC 182-
51-10001100. 

WAC 182-51-1000(2) 

Proposed (2) The authority develops data submission guides 
and has final approval authority over them. 

To provide the opportunity 
for reporting entities to 
comment on changes HCA 
makes to the data submission 
guides. 

Adopted (2) The authority develops data submission guides 
and has final approval authority over them. The 
authority provides reporting entities the opportunity 
to comment on changes to data requirements in the 
applicable data submission guide, at least thirty days 
before the effective date of the change. 

WAC 182-51-1100(1) 

Proposed (1) RCW 43.71C.090 allows the authority to assess a 
fine of up to one thousand dollars per day for failure 
to comply with the requirements of RCW 43.71C.020 
through 43.71C.080 and the requirements of this 
chapter. 

To improve usability. 

Adopted (1) RCW 43.71C.090 allows the authority to assess a 
fine of up to one thousand dollars per day for failure 
to comply with the requirements of RCW 43.71C.020 
through 43.71C.080 and the requirements of this 
chapter. See WAC 182-51-1300 for fines for failing to 
comply with reporting requirements and WAC 182-51-
1400 for the amount of fines based on culpability. 

WAC 182-51-1100(2) 

Proposed (2) The authority may, at its sole discretion, grant an 
extension of time to a reporting requirement deadline 
under WAC 182-51-1200. 

To remove redundant 
language. 

Adopted (2) The authority may, at its sole discretion, grant an 
extension of time to a reporting requirement deadline 
under WAC 182-51-1200. 

WAC 182-51-1200(1) 

Proposed (1) The authority may, at its sole discretion, grant: To remove redundant 
language. Adopted (1) The authority may, at its sole discretion, grant: 

WAC 182-51-1200(1)(b) 

Proposed (b) The request for an extension must be for no more 
than one reporting period and must contain a detailed 
explanation as to the reason the reporting entity is 
unable to meet the reporting requirements for that 
period. 

To remove a restriction on 
how long reporting entities 
may ask for an extension. 
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Adopted (b) The request for an extension must be for no more 
than one reporting period and must contain a detailed 
explanation as to the reason the reporting entity is 
unable to meet the reporting requirements for that 
period. 

WAC 182-51-1200(1)(d) 

Proposed (d) The authority may approve a request for 
extenuating circumstances. The authority provides 
written notification of the approval or denial to the 
requestor within fifteen calendar days from when the 
authority receives the request from the reporting 
entity. If the authority does not approve a request for 
an extension, the written notification includes the 
reason for the denial. 

To clarify what extensions are 
for. 

Adopted (d) The authority may approve a request for an 
extension for a period of time based on the specific 
circumstances or other extenuating circumstances. 
The authority provides written notification of the 
approval or denial to the requestor within fifteen 
calendar days from when the authority receives the 
request from the reporting entity. If the authority 
does not approve a request for an extension, the 
written notification includes the reason for the denial. 

WAC 182-51-1300(2) 

Proposed (2) Unless the authority has approved an extension, 
the authority may assess a fine for failure to comply 
with general reporting requirements contained in 
chapter 43.71C RCW and this chapter including, but 
not limited to, the following: 

To clarify that HCA will also 
not asses a fine if HCA has 
received a request to correct 
previously submitted data. 

Adopted (2) Unless the authority has approved an extension or 
has received a request to correct previously 
submitted data, the authority may assess a fine for 
failure to comply with general reporting requirements 
contained in chapter 43.71C RCW and this chapter 
including, but not limited to, the following: 

WAC 182-51-1300(3) 

Proposed (3) Unless the authority has approved an extension, 
the authority may assess fines for failure to comply 
with data file requirements outlined in the applicable 
data submission guide in effect for the required 
reporting period including, but not limited to, the 
following: 

To clarify that HCA will also 
not asses a fine if HCA has 
received a request to correct 
previously submitted data. 

Adopted (3) Unless the authority has approved an extension or 
has received a request to correct previously 
submitted data, the authority may assess fines for 
failure to comply with data file requirements outlined 
in the applicable data submission guide in effect for 
the required reporting period including, but not 
limited to, the following: 
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WAC 182-51-1300(4) and (5) 

Proposed (4) Upon failing to comply with a reporting 
requirement in this chapter, the authority first issues 
a warning notice to a reporting entity. The authority 
sends the warning notice to the reporting entity's last 
known email or physical address. The warning notice 
describes the failure to comply with the requirements 
of this chapter and gives the reporting entity ten days 
to become compliant or request an extension of time 
to report the required data according to WAC 182-51-
1200(2). 
 
(5) A reporting entity that fails to comply with the 
same reporting requirement in this chapter for which 
it previously received a warning notice may be 
assessed a fine of up to one thousand dollars per day. 
Failure to comply with each reporting requirement for 
the reporting period is a different occurrence with a 
separate fine. 

The clarify the process HCA 
uses to work with reporting 
entities who fail to comply 
with reporting requirements 
laid out in this chapter, HCA 
moved this information to 
WAC 182-51-1500.  
 
Due to this change, 
subsection (6) was 
renumbered to (3). 

Adopted (4) Upon failing to comply with a reporting 
requirement in this chapter, the authority first issues 
a warning notice to a reporting entity. The authority 
sends the warning notice to the reporting entity's last 
known email or physical address. The warning notice 
describes the failure to comply with the requirements 
of this chapter and gives the reporting entity ten days 
to become compliant or request an extension of time 
to report the required data according to WAC 182-51-
1200(2). 
 
(5) A reporting entity that fails to comply with the 
same reporting requirement in this chapter for which 
it previously received a warning notice may be 
assessed a fine of up to one thousand dollars per day. 
Failure to comply with each reporting requirement for 
the reporting period is a different occurrence with a 
separate fine. 

WAC 182-51-1400 New subsection (4) 

Proposed N/A To clarify how fines accrue. 

Adopted (4) Fines continue to accrue daily until the reporting 
entity comes into compliance, settles through an 
informal dispute resolution conference under WAC 
182-51-1700, or files a formal appeal under WAC 182-
51-1800. 

WAC 182-51-1500 Title and new subsection (1) 

Proposed WAC 182-51-1500 Notice of violation and fine.  To provide for a warning 
notice sent to reporting 
entities that gives reporting 
entities thirty days to 
become compliant or request 

Adopted WAC 182-51-1500 N Preliminary notice of violation 
and fine(s). (1) Upon failing to comply with a 
reporting requirement in this chapter, the authority 
first issues a warning notice to a reporting entity. The 
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authority sends the warning notice to the reporting 
entity's last known email or physical address. The 
warning notice describes the failure to comply with 
the requirements of this chapter and gives the 
reporting entity thirty days to become compliant or 
request an extension of time to report the required 
data according to WAC 182-51-1200(2). 
 
(1)(2) When a reporting entity fails…. 

an extension before a 
preliminary notice of 
violation and fine(s) is sent. 
 
The proposed subsection (1) 
was renumbered to (2) to 
compensate for the new 
subsection. 

WAC 182-51-1500(1) 

Proposed (1) When a reporting entity fails to comply with 
reporting requirement(s) after receiving a warning 
notice, the authority may assess a fine and notifies 
the reporting entity. The authority mails the notice of 
violation to the reporting entity's last known address 
by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

To clarify the preliminary 
notice of violation and fine(s) 
process. 

Adopted (1)(2) When a reporting entity fails to comply with 
reporting requirement(s) after receiving a warning 
notice, the authority may assess a fine and notifies 
the reporting entity(s) as established in WAC 182-51-
1400. The authority mails the a preliminary notice of 
violation and fine(s) to the reporting entity's last 
known address by certified mail, return receipt 
requested. 

WAC 182-51-1500(2) 

Proposed (2) The notice of violation includes the following 
information: 

(a) The specific reasons and criteria that support 
the imposition of the assessed fine(s); 

(b) The legal authority that supports the imposition 
of a fine or fines; 

(c) The amount of the fine(s); 
(d) The date when the fine(s) and other actions 

imposed will take effect, if not appealed; and 
(e) An explanation of the reporting entity's appeal 

rights. 

To clarify what information is 
included in the preliminary 
notice of violation and 
fine(s).  

Adopted (2)(3) The preliminary notice of violation and fine(s) 
includes the following information: 

(a) The specific reasons and criteria that support 
the imposition of the assessed fine(s); 

(b) The legal authority that supports the imposition 
of a fine or fines; 

(c) The amount of the fine(s) as of the date of the 
preliminary notice of violation and fine(s); 

(d) The date when the fine(s) and other actions 
imposed will take effect, if not appealed Notice that 
fines will continue to accrue at the assessed daily rate, 
per WAC 182-51-1400, until the reporting entity 
either complies with the reporting requirements or 
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settles through an informal dispute resolution 
conference; and 

(e) An explanation of the reporting entity's appeal 
rights to request an informal dispute resolution 
conference under WAC 182-51-1700. 

WAC 182-51-1600(1) 

Proposed (1) Each reporting entity to whom the authority issues 
a notice of a violation and fine may request a hearing 
to be conducted in accordance with this chapter and 
chapter 182-526 WAC. 

To clarify the difference 
between the preliminary 
notice of violation and fine(s) 
and the final notice of 
violation and fine(s) and to 
clarify the difference 
between the informal dispute 
resolution process under 
WAC 182-51-1700 and the 
formal administrative hearing 
process under WAC 182-51-
1800. 

Adopted (1) Each reporting entity to whom the authority issues 
a preliminary notice of a violation and fine(s) may 
request a hearing to be conducted in accordance with 
this chapter and chapter 182-526 WAC and informal 
dispute resolution conference under WAC 182-51-
1700. 

WAC 182-51-1600(2) and (3) 

Proposed (2) A reporting entity must submit a request for a 
hearing to the authority in writing, in a manner that 
provides proof of receipt, within twenty-eight 
calendar days after receipt of written notice provided 
under WAC 182-51-1500. 
 
(3) The request for hearing must specify: 

(a) The name of the reporting entity requesting 
the hearing and the reporting entity's, or 
representative's, mailing address, telephone number, 
and email address (if available); 

(b) The items, facts, or conclusions in the notice of 
violation being contested; and 

(c) The basis for contesting the authority's action, 
including any mitigating factors upon which the 
reporting entity relies and the outcome the reporting 
entity is seeking. 

To clarify the process 
reporting entities may use to 
dispute or appeal notices of 
violation and fine(s). HCA 
added clarity surrounding the 
options reporting entities 
have and the timeliness 
requirements.  

Adopted (2) A reporting entity must submit a request for a 
hearing to the authority in writing, in a manner that 
provides proof of receipt, within twenty-eight 
calendar days after receipt of written notice provided 
under WAC 182-51-1500. 
 
(3) The request for hearing must specify: 

(a) The name of the reporting entity requesting 
the hearing and the reporting entity's, or 
representative's, mailing address, telephone number, 
and email address (if available); 

(b) The items, facts, or conclusions in the notice of 
violation being contested; and 
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(c) The basis for contesting the authority's action, 
including any mitigating factors upon which the 
reporting entity relies and the outcome the reporting 
entity is seeking. If the reporting entity requests an 
informal dispute resolution conference under WAC 
182-51-1700, the reporting entity must complete the 
informal dispute resolution process before requesting 
an administrative hearing. 
 
(3) In lieu of an informal dispute resolution 
conference, the reporting entity may request a formal 
appeal under WAC 182-51-1800 in writing, in a 
manner that provides proof of receipt, within twenty-
eight calendar days after receipt of the preliminary 
notice of violation and fine(s). Upon receipt for the 
reporting entity’s request, the authority issues a final 
notice of violation and fine(s) with an explanation of 
the reporting entity’s administrative hearing rights 
under WAC 182-51-1800. 
 
(4) If the reporting entity does not request an 
informal dispute resolution conference or formal 
appeal within twenty-eight calendar days after receipt 
of the preliminary notice of violation and fine(s), the 
authority issues a final notice of violation with an 
explanation of the reporting entity’s administrative 
hearing rights under WAC 182-51-1800. 

WAC 182-51-1700(1) 

Proposed (1) A reporting entity may informally dispute the 
authority's determination of a violation under this 
chapter. Reporting entities must submit the request 
for dispute resolution in writing, and it must include 
the following: 

(a) The supporting evidence for each assessed 
violation; and 

(b) The relief sought for each disputed violation. 

To clarify that this subsection 
is regarding the preliminary 
notice of violation and 
fine(s). HCA removed the 
final sentence in this 
subsection due to amending 
subsection (2) and adding a 
new subsection (3). 

Adopted (1) A reporting entity may informally dispute the 
authority's preliminary determination of a violation 
under this chapter. Reporting entities must submit the 
request for dispute resolution in writing, and it must 
include the following: 

(a) The supporting evidence for each assessed 
violation; and 

(b) The relief sought for each disputed violation. 

WAC 182-51-1700(2) 

Proposed (2) The dispute may include a request for a dispute 
resolution conference. 

(a) If the agency grants the reporting entity's 
request for a dispute resolution conference, the 
conference occurs within sixty calendar days of the 

To clarify how reporting 
entities may request an 
informal resolution 
conference and what 
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date the reporting entity received the authority's 
written acceptance of the request for a dispute 
resolution conference. 

(b) The reporting entity must notify the authority 
of who will attend the dispute resolution conference 
on the reporting entity's behalf at least five business 
days before the conference. 

information should be in the 
request. 
 
Due to the additional 
subsections, proposed 
subsection (3) was 
renumbered to (6). 

Adopted (2) The dispute may include a request for a dispute 
resolution conference. 

(a) A reporting entity must submit a request for an 
informal dispute resolution conference to the 
authority in writing, in a manner that provides proof 
of receipt, within twenty-eight calendar days after 
receipt of the preliminary notice of violation and 
fine(s). 

 
(3) Requests should specify: 

(a) The name of the reporting entity requesting the 
informal dispute resolution conference and the 
reporting entity's, or representative's, mailing 
address, telephone number, and email address (if 
available); 

(b) The items, facts, or conclusions in the 
preliminary notice of violation being contested; and 

(c) The basis for contesting the authority's action, 
including any mitigating factors upon which the 
reporting entity relies and the outcome the reporting 
entity is seeking. 

 
(4) If the agency grants the reporting entity's request 
for a dispute resolution conference, the conference 
occurs within sixty calendar days of the date the 
reporting entity received the authority's written 
acceptance of the request for a dispute resolution 
conference. 
 

(b) (5) The reporting entity must notify the 
authority of who will attend the dispute resolution 
conference on the reporting entity's behalf at least 
five business days before the conference. 

WAC 182-51-1700 New subsection (7) 

Proposed N/A To clarify when HCA issues 
the final notice of violation 
and fine(s). 
 
Due to the addition of this 
subsection, proposed 
subsection (4) was 
renumbered to (8). 

Adopted (7) Upon completion or termination of the informal 
dispute resolution process, the authority will issue a 
final notice of violation and fine(s). 

WAC 182-51-1800(1) 
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Proposed (1) A reporting entity has a right to an administrative 
hearing (formal appeal), and any resulting appeals 
process available under chapters 34.05 RCW and 182-
526 WAC, if the authority assesses a fine against the 
reporting entity under any section of chapter 43.71C 
RCW and this chapter. To the extent that there may 
be a conflict between the general provisions 
contained in chapter 182-526 WAC and this chapter, 
the more specific provisions in this chapter apply. 

To clarify that reporting 
entities have the right to a 
formal administrative hearing 
when they receive a final 
notice of violation and 
fine(s). 

Adopted (1) A reporting entity has a right to an administrative 
hearing (formal appeal), and any resulting appeals 
process available under chapters 34.05 RCW and 182-
526 WAC, if the authority assesses a final notice of 
violation and fine(s) against the reporting entity under 
any section of chapter 43.71C RCW and this chapter. 
To the extent that there may be a conflict between 
the general provisions contained in chapter 182-526 
WAC and this chapter, the more specific provisions in 
this chapter apply. 

WAC 182-51-1800(2) 

Proposed (2) A reporting entity may appeal both the assessed 
violation(s) and the amount of the fine(s) assessed in 
the notice of violation and fine. 

To clarify that this subsection 
is regarding the final notice 
of violation and fine(s). 

Adopted (2) A reporting entity may appeal both the assessed 
violation(s) and the amount of the fine(s) assessed in 
the final notice of violation and fine(s). 

WAC 182-51-1800 New subsections (3) and (4) 

Proposed N/A To clarify how reporting 
entities may request a formal 
administrative hearing and 
what information should be 
in the request. 
 
Because of this addition, the 
subsequent subsections were 
renumbered. 

Adopted (3) A reporting entity must submit a request for 
formal hearing to the authority in writing, in a manner 
that provides proof of receipt, within twenty-eight 
calendar days after receipt of the final notice of 
violation and fine(s) under WAC 182-51-1700. 
 
(4) Requests should specify: 

(a) The name of the reporting entity requesting 
the hearing and the reporting entity's, or 
representative's, mailing address, telephone number, 
and email address (if available); 

(b) The items, facts, or conclusions in the final 
notice of violation being contested; and 

(c) The basis for contesting the authority's action, 
including any mitigating factors upon which the 
reporting entity relies and the outcome the reporting 
entity is seeking. 

 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name:       

Address:       

Phone:       
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Chapter 182-51 WAC
PRESCRIPTION DRUG PRICING TRANSPARENCY PROGRAM

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0050  Authority and purpose.  (1) Under the authority 
of chapter 43.71C RCW, this chapter implements the Washington pre-
scription drug pricing transparency program.

(2) The purpose of the Washington prescription drug pricing 
transparency program is to provide notice and disclosure of informa-
tion relating to the cost and pricing of prescription drugs in order 
to provide accountability to the state for prescription drug pricing.

(3) The authority publishes a data submission guide to the au-
thority's website, detailing the data elements to report as required 
by chapter 43.71C RCW, and how to submit the data.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0100  Definitions.  For the purposes of this chapter:
(1) "Authority" means the health care authority.
(2) "Calendar days" means the same as in WAC 182-526-0010.
(3) "Calendar year" means the period from January 1st to December 

31st of each year.
(4) "Covered drug" means any prescription drug that:
(a) A covered manufacturer intends to introduce to the market in 

Washington state at a wholesale acquisition cost of ten thousand dol-
lars or more for a course of treatment lasting less than one month or 
a thirty-day supply, whichever period is longer; or

(b) Meets all of the following:
(i) Is currently on the market in Washington state;
(ii) Is manufactured by a covered manufacturer; and
(iii) Has a wholesale acquisition cost of more than one hundred 

dollars for a course of treatment lasting less than one month or a 
thirty-day supply, and, taking into account only price increases that 
take effect after July 28, 2019, the manufacturer increases the whole-
sale acquisition cost such that:

(A) The new wholesale acquisition cost is twenty percent higher 
than the wholesale acquisition cost on the same day of the month, 
twelve months before the date of the proposed increase; or

(B) The new wholesale acquisition cost is fifty percent higher 
than the wholesale acquisition cost on the same day of the month, 
thirty-six months before the date of the proposed increase.

(5) "Covered manufacturer" means a person, corporation or other 
entity engaged in the manufacture of prescription drugs sold in or in-
to Washington state. "Covered manufacturer" does not include a private 
label distributor or retail pharmacy that sells a drug under the re-
tail pharmacy's store label, or a prescription drug repackager.

(6) "Data" means all data provided to the authority under RCW 
43.71C.020 through 43.71C.080 and any analysis prepared by the author-
ity.
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(7) "Data recipient" means an individual or entity authorized to 
receive data under RCW 43.71C.100.

(8) "Data submission guide" means the document that identifies 
the data required under chapter 43.71C RCW, and provides instructions 
for submitting this data to the authority, including guidance on re-
quired format for reporting, for each reporting entity.

(9) "Food and drug administration (FDA) approval date" means the 
deadline for the FDA to review applications for new drugs or new bio-
logics after the new drug application or biologic application is ac-
cepted by the FDA as complete in accordance with the Prescription Drug 
User Fee Act of 1992 (106 Stat. 4491; P.L. 102-571).

(10) "Health plan," "health carrier," and "carrier" mean the same 
as in RCW 48.43.005.

(11) "Introduced to market" means marketed in Washington state.
(12) "Pharmacy benefit manager" means the same as defined in RCW 

19.340.010.
(13) "Pharmacy services administrative organization" means an en-

tity that:
(a) Contracts with a pharmacy to act as the pharmacy's agent with 

respect to matters involving a pharmacy benefit manager, third-party 
payor, or other entities, including negotiating, executing, or admin-
istering contracts with the pharmacy benefit manager, third-party pay-
or, or other entities; and

(b) Provides administrative services to pharmacies.
(14) "Pipeline drug" means a drug or biologic product containing 

a new molecular entity, not yet approved by the Food and Drug Adminis-
tration, for which a manufacturer intends to seek initial approval 
from the Food and Drug Administration under an original new drug ap-
plication under 21 U.S.C. Sec. 355(b) or under a biologics license ap-
plication under 42 U.S.C. Sec. 262 to be marketed in Washington state.

(15) "Prescription drug" means a drug regulated under chapter 
69.41 or 69.50 RCW that is prescribed for outpatient use and distrib-
uted in a retail setting, including generic, brand name, specialty 
drugs, and biological products.

(16) "Private label distributor" means a firm that does not par-
ticipate in the manufacture or processing of a drug but instead mar-
kets and distributes under its own trade name, and labels a drug prod-
uct made by someone else.

(17) "Qualifying price increase" means a price increase described 
in subsection (3)(b) of this section.

(18) "Rebate" means negotiated price concessions, discounts, how-
ever characterized, that accrue directly or indirectly to a reporting 
entity in connection with utilization of prescription drugs by report-
ing entity members including, but not limited to, rebates, administra-
tive fees, market share rebates, price protection rebates, perform-
ance-based price concessions, volume-related rebates, other credits, 
and any other negotiated price concessions or discounts that are rea-
sonably anticipated to be passed through to a reporting entity during 
a coverage year, and any other form of price concession prearranged 
with a covered manufacturer, dispensing pharmacy, pharmacy benefit 
manager, rebate aggregator, group purchasing organization, or other 
party which are paid to a reporting entity and are directly attributa-
ble to the utilization of certain drugs by reporting entity members.

(19) "Reporting entity" means carriers, covered manufacturers, 
health carriers, health plans, pharmacy benefit managers, and pharmacy 
services administrative organizations, which are required to or volun-
tarily submit data according to chapter 43.71C RCW.
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(20) "Wholesale acquisition cost" means, with respect to a pre-
scription drug, the manufacturer's list price for the drug to whole-
salers or direct purchasers in the United States, excluding any dis-
counts, rebates, or reductions in price, for the most recent month for 
which the information is available, as reported in wholesale acquisi-
tion cost guides or other publications of prescription drug pricing.

DATA REPORTING, NOTICES, AND CONFIDENTIALITY

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0200  Reporting entity registration.  (1) No later 
than August 1st of each year, a reporting entity must register with 
the authority and provide the required contact information as defined 
in the applicable data submission guide. Reregistration is required 
only if there is a change in contact information previously provided.

(2) It is the responsibility of the reporting entity to maintain 
current and accurate contact information with the authority.

(3) Failure to register and provide or maintain accurate contact 
information with the authority may result in a reporting entity's in-
ability to submit required data in compliance with this chapter.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0300  Health carriers—Cost utilization data report-
ing.  (1) No later than October 16, 2020, a health carrier must submit 
to the authority the prescription drug cost and utilization data for 
calendar years 2018 and 2019, for each health plan it offered in Wash-
ington state in calendar years 2018 and 2019, following the guidelines 
set in the authority's applicable data submission guide.

(2) Beginning October 1, 2021, and no later than October 1st an-
nually thereafter, a health carrier must submit to the authority the 
prescription drug cost and utilization data for the previous calendar 
year for each health plan it offered in Washington state, following 
the guidelines set in the authority's applicable data submission 
guide.

(3) A carrier may voluntarily submit the data described in sub-
section (1) of this section for any employer-sponsored, self-funded 
health plan; Taft-Hartley trust health plan; worker's compensation 
plan; medicare Part D plan; or medicare advantage plan it administers.

(4) The authority may assess fines for not complying with the re-
quirements in this section. See WAC 182-51-1100.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0400  Pharmacy benefit managers—Data reporting.  (1) 
No later than March 1st of each year, a pharmacy benefit manager must 
submit to the authority all data specified in RCW 43.71C.030, follow-
ing the guidelines set in the authority's applicable data submission 
guide.

(2) The authority may examine or audit a pharmacy benefit manag-
er's financial records to ensure the information submitted under this 
section is accurate. Information the authority acquires in an examina-
tion of financial records according to this subsection is treated as 
proprietary and confidential. The information collected according to 
this subsection is not subject to public disclosure under chapter 
42.56 RCW.

(3) A pharmacy benefit manager may voluntarily submit the data 
described in subsection (1) of this section for any employer-spon-
sored, self-funded health plan; Taft-Hartley trust health plan; work-
er's compensation plan; medicare Part D plan; or medicare advantage 
plan it administers.

(4) The information submitted according to this section is not 
subject to public disclosure under chapter 42.56 RCW.

(5) The agency may assess fines for not complying with the re-
quirements in this section. See WAC 182-51-1100.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0500  Pharmacy benefit managers—Compliance.  (1) No 
later than March 1st of each year, each pharmacy benefit manager must 
file with the authority an attestation in the format required by the 
authority for the preceding calendar year, stating that the pharmacy 
benefit manager is in compliance with this chapter.

(2) A pharmacy benefit manager must not cause or knowingly permit 
the use of any advertisement, promotion, solicitation, representation, 
proposal, or offer that is untrue, deceptive, or misleading.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0600  Manufacturers—Data and price reporting.  (1) On 
or before December 31, 2020, a covered manufacturer must submit to the 
authority all data specified in RCW 43.71C.050 and 43.71C.070, the 
following guidelines set in the authority's applicable data submission 
guide for each covered drug as the drug existed between and including 
July 28, 2019, and August 17, 2020.

(2) Beginning October 16, 2020, a covered manufacturer must sub-
mit to the authority all data specified in RCW 43.71C.050 and 
43.71C.070, following the guidelines set in the authority's applicable 
data submission guide, for each covered drug as follows:

(a) Sixty days in advance of a qualifying prices increase for a 
covered drug marketed in Washington state; or
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(b) Thirty days in advance of a new covered drug's introduction 
to market in Washington state.

(3) For any drug approved under section 505(j) of the federal 
Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act as it existed on August 18, 2020, or a 
biosimilar approved under section 351(k) of the federal Public Health 
Service Act as it existed on August 18, 2020, if submitting data in 
accordance with subsection (2)(a) of this section is not possible six-
ty days before the price increase; or if submitting data in accordance 
with subsection (2)(b) of this section is not possible thirty days be-
fore the introduction to market, that submission must be made as soon 
as known but no later than the date of the price increase or introduc-
tion to market.

(4) The information submitted according to this section is not 
subject to public disclosure under chapter 42.56 RCW.

(5) The authority may assess fines for not complying with the re-
quirements in this section. See WAC 182-51-1100.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0700  Manufacturers—Notice of new drug applications 
and biologic license applications.  (1) On or before December 31, 
2020, a manufacturer must submit to the authority all data specified 
in RCW 43.71C.060(1), following the guidelines set in the authority's 
applicable data submission guide for all new drug applications or bio-
logic license applications for pipeline drugs submitted on or after 
October 1, 2019, through October 15, 2020, for which the manufacturer 
has received an FDA approval date.

(2) Beginning October 16, 2020, a manufacturer must submit to the 
authority all data specified in RCW 43.71C.060(1), following the 
guidelines set in the authority's applicable data submission guide for 
all new drug applications or biologic license applications for pipe-
line drugs submitted on or after October 16, 2020, within sixty calen-
dar days of the manufacturer receiving the FDA approval date.

(3) The authority considers fifty thousand dollars per biennium 
to be a significant impact on state expenditures. Reporting entities 
may anticipate a request for additional information per RCW 
43.71C.060(3) from the authority for products expected to exceed fifty 
thousand dollars per biennium. To improve efficiency in reporting, 
manufacturers who submit a new drug application or a biologics license 
application for a pipeline drug or a biologics license application for 
a biological product that is expected to cost the state more than fif-
ty thousand dollars per biennium may submit the data elements in RCW 
43.71C.060(3) at the same time they submit the notice of the new drug 
application.

(4) A manufacturer may limit the information reported according 
to this section to information that is in the public domain or public-
ly reported.

(5) The agency may assess fines for not complying with the re-
quirements in this section. See WAC 182-51-1100.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0800  Pharmacy services administrative organizations—
Data reporting.  (1) No later than October 16, 2020, and October 1st 
of each year thereafter, a pharmacy services administrative organiza-
tion representing a pharmacy or pharmacy chain in Washington state 
must submit to the authority the data specified in RCW 43.71C.080 fol-
lowing the guidelines set in the authority's applicable data submis-
sion guide.

(2) Any pharmacy services administrative organization whose reve-
nue is generated from flat service fees not connected to drug prices 
or volume, and paid by the pharmacy, is exempt from reporting, subject 
to audit by the authority. These organizations must petition the au-
thority for exemption from the reporting requirements according to the 
frequency listed and the formatting guidelines in the authority's ap-
plicable data submission guide.

(3) The authority may assess fines for not complying with the re-
quirements in this section. See WAC 182-51-1100.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-0900  Data confidentiality.  The authority provides 
data only after the data recipient, as defined by this chapter, has 
signed a nondisclosure agreement. The authority may prohibit access to 
or use of the data by a data recipient who violates the nondisclosure 
agreement.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-1000  Data submission guides.  (1) All data and data 
files must be submitted to the authority in accordance with the re-
quirements in this chapter and the respective data submission guide 
for the respective reporting period. Data submission guides are loca-
ted on the authority's website.

(2) The authority develops data submission guides and has final 
approval authority over them. The authority provides reporting enti-
ties the opportunity to comment on changes to data requirements in the 
applicable data submission guide, at least thirty days before the ef-
fective date of the change.

(3) At its discretion, the authority may grant reporting entities 
an extension to comply with any changes the authority makes to the da-
ta submission guides. Reporting entities must request extensions in 
accordance with WAC 182-51-1200.
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ENFORCEMENT

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-1100  Authority to assess fines.  (1) RCW 43.71C.090 
allows the authority to assess a fine of up to one thousand dollars 
per day for failure to comply with the requirements of RCW 43.71C.020 
through 43.71C.080 and the requirements of this chapter. See WAC 
182-51-1300 for fines for failing to comply with reporting require-
ments and WAC 182-51-1400 for the amount of fines based on culpabili-
ty.

(2) The authority may grant an extension of time to a reporting 
requirement deadline under WAC 182-51-1200.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-1200  Extension of deadlines.  (1) The authority may 
grant:

(a) An extension of time to a reporting requirement deadline; or
(b) Permission to correct previously submitted data.
(2) Extensions.
(a) A reporting entity may request an extension of time for sub-

mitting a report or the resubmission of a report due to extenuating 
circumstances affecting the reporting entity's ability to submit the 
data by the deadline.

(b) The request for an extension must contain a detailed explana-
tion as to the reason the reporting entity is unable to meet the re-
porting requirements for that period.

(c) A reporting entity must submit a request for an extension to 
the authority at least thirty calendar days before the applicable re-
porting deadline unless the requestor is unable to meet this deadline 
due to circumstances beyond the reporting entity's control. If unable 
to meet this deadline, the reporting entity must notify the authority 
in writing as soon as the reporting entity determines that an exten-
sion is necessary.

(d) The authority may approve a request for an extension for a 
period of time based on the specific circumstances or other extenuat-
ing circumstances. The authority provides written notification of the 
approval or denial to the requestor within fifteen calendar days from 
when the authority receives the request from the reporting entity. If 
the authority does not approve a request for an extension, the written 
notification includes the reason for the denial.

(e) A reporting entity may not appeal the authority's decision to 
deny an extension.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-1300  Fines for failure to comply with reporting re-
quirements.  (1) The authority may assess fines for failure to comply 
with the general reporting requirements of this chapter including, but 
not limited to, failing to report data or reporting erroneous or inac-
curate data.

(2) Unless the authority has approved an extension or has re-
ceived a request to correct previously submitted data, the authority 
may assess a fine for failure to comply with general reporting re-
quirements contained in chapter 43.71C RCW and this chapter including, 
but not limited to, the following:

(a) Failure to timely submit required data files; or
(b) Failure to accurately submit all data elements.
(3) Unless the authority has approved an extension or has re-

ceived a request to correct previously submitted data, the authority 
may assess fines for failure to comply with data file requirements 
outlined in the applicable data submission guide in effect for the re-
quired reporting period including, but not limited to, the following:

(a) Submitting a data file in an unapproved layout;
(b) Submitting a data element in an unapproved format;
(c) Submitting a data element with unapproved coding;
(d) Failing to submit a required data element;
(e) Failing to comply with the approved data submission schedule; 

or
(f) Transmitting data files using an unapproved process.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-1400  Amount of fines based on culpability.  (1) In 
determining the amount of any fine, the authority considers the level 
of culpability associated with the violation. The levels of culpabili-
ty, in the order of least severe to most severe, are as follows:

(a) Did not know. The reporting entity did not know and by exer-
cising reasonable diligence, could not have known the violation had 
occurred.

(b) Reasonable cause. The reporting entity knew, or by exercising 
diligence should have known, that the violation had taken place, but 
the reporting entity did not act with willful neglect.

(c) Willful neglect - Corrected. The violation was due to the re-
porting entity's intentional failure or reckless indifference, and the 
violation was corrected within thirty calendar days from the date the 
reporting entity knew or with reasonable diligence should have known 
of the violation.

(d) Willful neglect - Uncorrected. The violation was due to the 
reporting entity's intentional failure or reckless indifference, and 
the violation was not corrected within thirty calendar days from the 
date the reporting entity knew or with reasonable diligence should 
have known of the violation.

(2) The fine ranges for each level of culpability and the daily 
cap for violations of a similar nature are as follows:
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Culpability category
Fines per violation, 

per day
Did not know $250
Reasonable cause $500
Willful neglect - Corrected $750
Willful neglect - Not corrected $1,000

(3) Fines begin to accrue on the first day after the reporting 
deadline. For those reporting entities granted an extension by the au-
thority, fines begin to accrue on the first day after the extended due 
date.

(4) Fines continue to accrue daily until the reporting entity 
comes into compliance, settles through an informal dispute resolution 
conference under WAC 182-51-1700, or files a formal appeal under WAC 
182-51-1800.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-1500  Preliminary notice of violation and fine(s). 
(1) Upon failing to comply with a reporting requirement in this chap-
ter, the authority first issues a warning notice to a reporting enti-
ty. The authority sends the warning notice to the reporting entity's 
last known email or physical address. The warning notice describes the 
failure to comply with the requirements of this chapter and gives the 
reporting entity thirty days to become compliant or request an exten-
sion of time to report the required data according to WAC 
182-51-1200(2).

(2) When a reporting entity fails to comply with reporting re-
quirement(s) after receiving a warning notice, the authority may as-
sess a fine(s) as established in WAC 182-51-1400. The authority mails 
a preliminary notice of violation and fine(s) to the reporting enti-
ty's last known address by certified mail, return receipt requested.

(3) The preliminary notice of violation and fine(s) includes the 
following information:

(a) The specific reasons and criteria that support the imposition 
of the assessed fine(s);

(b) The legal authority that supports the imposition of a fine or 
fines;

(c) The amount of the fine(s) as of the date of the preliminary 
notice of violation and fine(s);

(d) Notice that fines will continue to accrue at the assessed 
daily rate, per WAC 182-51-1400, until the reporting entity either 
complies with the reporting requirements or settles through an infor-
mal dispute resolution conference; and

(e) An explanation of the reporting entity's right to request an 
informal dispute resolution conference under WAC 182-51-1700.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-1600  Process to appeal determination of a violation 
and assessed fines.  (1) Each reporting entity to whom the authority 
issues a preliminary notice of a violation and fine(s) may request and 
informal dispute resolution conference under WAC 182-51-1700.

(2) If the reporting entity requests an informal dispute resolu-
tion conference under WAC 182-51-1700, the reporting entity must com-
plete the informal dispute resolution process before requesting an ad-
ministrative hearing.

(3) In lieu of an informal dispute resolution conference, the re-
porting entity may request a formal appeal under WAC 182-51-1800 in 
writing, in a manner that provides proof of receipt, within twenty-
eight calendar days after receipt of the preliminary notice of viola-
tion and fine(s). Upon receipt for the reporting entity's request, the 
authority issues a final notice of violation and fine(s) with an ex-
planation of the reporting entity's administrative hearing rights un-
der WAC 182-51-1800.

(4) If the reporting entity does not request an informal dispute 
resolution conference or formal appeal within twenty-eight calendar 
days after receipt of the preliminary notice of violation and fine(s), 
the authority issues a final notice of violation with an explanation 
of the reporting entity's administrative hearing rights under WAC 
182-51-1800.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-1700  Informal dispute resolution prior to a hearing. 
(1) A reporting entity may informally dispute the authority's prelimi-
nary determination of a violation under this chapter.

(2) A reporting entity must submit a request for an informal dis-
pute resolution conference to the authority in writing, in a manner 
that provides proof of receipt, within twenty-eight calendar days af-
ter receipt of the preliminary notice of violation and fine(s).

(3) Requests should specify:
(a) The name of the reporting entity requesting the informal dis-

pute resolution conference and the reporting entity's, or representa-
tive's, mailing address, telephone number, and email address (if 
available);

(b) The items, facts, or conclusions in the preliminary notice of 
violation being contested; and

(c) The basis for contesting the authority's action, including 
any mitigating factors upon which the reporting entity relies and the 
outcome the reporting entity is seeking.

(4) If the agency grants the reporting entity's request for a 
dispute resolution conference, the conference occurs within sixty cal-
endar days of the date the reporting entity received the authority's 
written acceptance of the request for a dispute resolution conference.

(5) The reporting entity must notify the authority of who will 
attend the dispute resolution conference on the reporting entity's be-
half at least five business days before the conference.

(6) The authority may terminate the dispute resolution process at 
any time.
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(7) Upon completion or termination of the informal dispute reso-
lution process, the authority will issue a final notice of violation 
and fine(s).

(8) Nothing in this chapter prevents settlement discussions be-
tween the parties. All settlement discussions are informal and without 
prejudice to the rights of the participants in the discussions.

NEW SECTION

WAC 182-51-1800  Administrative hearing (formal appeal) right. 
(1) A reporting entity has a right to an administrative hearing (for-
mal appeal), and any resulting appeals process available under chap-
ters 34.05 RCW and 182-526 WAC, if the authority assesses a final no-
tice of violation and fine(s) against the reporting entity under any 
section of chapter 43.71C RCW and this chapter. To the extent that 
there may be a conflict between the general provisions contained in 
chapter 182-526 WAC and this chapter, the more specific provisions in 
this chapter apply.

(2) A reporting entity may appeal both the assessed violation(s) 
and the amount of the fine(s) assessed in the final notice of viola-
tion and fine(s).

(3) A reporting entity must submit a request for formal hearing 
to the authority in writing, in a manner that provides proof of re-
ceipt, within twenty-eight calendar days after receipt of the final 
notice of violation and fine(s) under WAC 182-51-1700.

(4) Requests should specify:
(a) The name of the reporting entity requesting the hearing and 

the reporting entity's, or representative's, mailing address, tele-
phone number, and email address (if available);

(b) The items, facts, or conclusions in the final notice of vio-
lation being contested; and

(c) The basis for contesting the authority's action, including 
any mitigating factors upon which the reporting entity relies and the 
outcome the reporting entity is seeking.

(5) At the administrative hearing and on appeal, the reporting 
entity bears the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence 
that it has complied with applicable laws, rules, regulations, and 
agreements.

(6) The administrative hearing process is governed by chapters 
34.05 RCW and 182-526 WAC.

(7) The authority does not begin the collection process until a 
decision in the administrative hearing is issued and all levels of ap-
peal have been exhausted.

(8) Interest on owed and outstanding fines continues to accrue at 
the rate of one percent per month or portion of a month, but it is not 
collected until a decision in the administrative hearing is issued and 
all levels of appeal have been exhausted.
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