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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

 

 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

 

CR-103P (December 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Health Care Authority 

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

☒     31 days after filing. 

☐     Other (specify)       (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should 

be stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes     ☒ No     If Yes, explain:       

Purpose: The agency is amending this section to correct a WAC cross-reference and remove age restrictions on tax 
dependent individuals. This change reflects agency policy that the agency supports applications of individuals who are tax 
dependent regardless of age.  

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:          
Repealed:       
Amended: 182-503-0010  
Suspended:       

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 41.05.021, 41.05.160 

Other authority:       

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 19-22-019 on October 28, 2019 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: N/A 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name:       

Address:       

Phone:       

Fax:       

TTY:       

Email:       

Web site:       

Other:       
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Note:   If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Federal rules or standards:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Recently enacted state statutes:  New      Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted on the agency’s own initiative: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New        Amended 1 Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Pilot rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Other alternative rule making:  New      Amended 1 Repealed       

 

Date Adopted: December 16, 2019 

 

Name: Wendy Barcus 
 

Title: HCA Rules Coordinator 

Signature: 

 
 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-12-017, filed 5/30/17, effective 
6/30/17)

WAC 182-503-0010  Washington apple health—Who may apply.  (1) 
You may apply for Washington apple health for yourself.

(2) You may apply for apple health for another person if you are:
(a) A legal guardian;
(b) An authorized representative (as described in WAC 

((182-500-0010)) 182-503-0130);
(c) A parent or caretaker relative of a child age eighteen or 

younger;
(d) A tax filer applying for a tax dependent ((age eighteen or 

younger));
(e) A spouse; or
(f) A person applying for someone who is unable to apply on their 

own due to a medical condition and who is in need of long-term care 
services.

(3) If you reside in an institution of mental diseases (as de-
fined in WAC 182-500-0050(1)) or a public institution (as defined in 
WAC 182-500-0050(4)), including a Washington state department of cor-
rections facility, city, tribal, or county jail, or secure community 
transition facility or total confinement facility (as defined in RCW 
71.09.020), you, your representative, or the facility may apply for 
you to get the apple health coverage for which you are determined eli-
gible.

(4) You are automatically enrolled in apple health and do not 
need to submit an application if you are a:

(a) Supplemental security income (SSI) recipient;
(b) Person deemed to be an SSI recipient under 1619(b) of the 

SSA;
(c) Newborn as described in WAC 182-505-0210; or
(d) Child in foster care placement as described in WAC 

182-505-0211.
(5) You are the primary applicant on an application if you com-

plete and sign the application on behalf of your household.
(6) If you are an SSI recipient, then you, your authorized repre-

sentative as defined in WAC 182-500-0010, or another person applying 
on your behalf as described in subsection (2) of this section, must 
turn in a signed application to apply for long-term care services as 
described in WAC 182-513-1315.

[ 1 ] OTS-1742.1




