" "

Children's Mental Health Workgroup (CMHWG)

The Children’s Mental Health Workgroup's (CMHWG) goal is to improve access to mental health services for children and their families. The group includes representatives from the Legislature, state agencies, health care practitioners, tribal governments, community health services, and other organizations.

The CMHWG is tasked with:

  • Monitoring enacted legislation, programs, and policies related to children’s mental health;
  • Considering ways to improve coordination and get rid of barriers between early learning, K-12 education, and health care systems; and
  • Finding ways to remove treatment barriers and strengthen mental health service delivery to children and youth.

The workgroup will submit final recommendations to the Legislature on December 1, 2020.

Next meeting




Meeting materials

To be determined




Workgroup members

  • Representative Noel Frame, Washington State House of Representatives (Co-chair)
  • MaryAnne Lindeblad, Health Care Authority (Co-chair)
  • Randon Aea, International Community Health Services
  • Dr. Avanti Bergquist, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Ruth Bush, Coordinated Care
  • Representative Michelle Caldier, Washington State House of Representatives
  • Diana Cockrell, Health Care Authority, Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery
  • Senator Jeannie Darneille, Washington State Senate
  • Jamie Elzea, Washington Association for Infant Mental Health
  • Representative Carolyn Eslick, Washington State House of Representatives
  • Lacy Fehrenbach, Washington State Department of Health
  • Dr. Thatcher Felt, Yakima Valley Farm Worker’s Clinic
  • Tory Gildred, Coordinated Care
  • Dr. Bob Hilt, Seattle Children's and University of Washington Psychiatry
  • Kristin Houser, Schroeter, Goldmark, and Bender Law
  • Lonnie Johns-Brown, Office of the Insurance Commissioner
  • Dr. Mona Johnson, Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Kim Justice, Washington State Department of Commerce
  • Judy King, Washington State Department of Children, Youth, and Families
  • Annette Klinefelter, Daybreak Youth Services
  • Steve Kutz, Cowlitz Indian Tribe
  • Nickolaus D. Lewis, Lummi Nation
  • Laurie Lippold, Partners for Our Children
  • Representative John Lovick, Washington State House of Representatives
  • Joel Ryan, Washington State Association of Head Start and ECEAP
  • Christi Sahlin, Molina Healthcare
  • Mary Stone-Smith, Catholic Community Services of Western Washington
  • Dr. Eric W Trupin, University of Washington
  • Senator Judy Warnick, Washington State Senate

Past meetings


Meeting materials


January 11, 2019

CMHWG task list (2019)

Agenda and materials (1/11/2019)

TVW did not broadcasting this meeting.
December 7, 2018 Agenda and materials (12/7/2018) TVW video
November 1, 2018 Agenda and materials (11/1/2018) TVW video

June 28, 2018



TVW video


First created by the Legislature by Engrossed Second Substitute House Bill 2439 (2016), the workgroup released recommendations before disbanding July 1, 2017. The workgroup reformed in 2018 through Engrossed Second Substitute House Bill 2779 (2018) to continue the work they started.