Accountable Communities of Health

Regional collaboration Accountable Communities of Health

Through the Accountable Communities of Health (ACHs) Healthier Washington brings together a group of leaders from a variety of sectors in a given geographic area with a common interest in improving health and health equity. Through these diverse multi-sector partnerships, ACHs are an essential part of the health systems transformation. 

By increasing community-based, cross-sector collaboration, ACHs better align resources and activities, which will improve whole person health and wellness. ACH participants promote health equity across the state and address the broader issues that affect health through regional health improvement plans. As Healthier Washington continues to expand, ACHs will serve a key role in supporting regional and statewide initiatives such as practice transformation, value-based purchasing and the alignment of performance measures.

ACH reports and materials

Alignment with Regional Service Areas

As the drivers of health system transformation, ACHs will consider and reflect the specific characteristics and needs within their regional service areas (RSAs) and communities. Health system transformation depends upon further coordination and integration at the delivery system level with community services, social services and public health. This can happen if ACHs build the necessary linkages and supportive environments to address the needs of the whole person. This strategy, along with the shift toward fully integrated purchasing on a regional basis, will be greatly enhanced by the alignment of ACHs and RSAs. For this reason, no more than one ACH will be established within an RSA.


Select map to view larger image.

Transitional counties

Klickitat County will move toward fully integrated contracting for physical and behavioral health care on a later timeline than Clark and Skamania, and will remain with the Greater Columbia region for 2016 contracting. Physical and behavioral health services for clients residing in Klickitat County will be delivered through the Greater Columbia RSA. Klickitat County expects to rejoin the Southwest Washington Regional Service Area (RSA), under the fully integrated managed care purchasing model, when local provider infrastructure concerns have been addressed.

Beginning in 2016, Chelan, Douglas and Grant counties will adopt the purchasing model in which behavioral health care is delivered through one behavioral health organization established to serve a three-county North Central RSA. Okanogan clients will receive physical and behavioral health services through the Spokane RSA until Okanogan County elects to rejoin the North Central RSA. 


HCA Contact information

Chase Napier
Community Transformation Manager 

Lena Nachand
Community Transformation Specialist

Kayla Down
Community Transformation Specialist

Regional ACH contact information and resources

Contact information for regional Accountable Communities of Health