
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
22016th Avenue, Mailstop RX-43 
Seattle, Washington 98121 CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID a. CHIP SERVICES 

Division of Medicaid & Children's Health Operations 

JAN 2 9 2612 

MaryAnne Lindeblad, Director 
Health Care Authority 
Post Office Box 45502 
Olympia, Washington 98504-5010 

RE: Washington State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 12-014 

Dear Ms. Lindeblad: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Seattle Regional Office has completed its 
review ofWashington State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 12-014. This amendment 
revises rates for Licensed Boarding Homes and Adult Family Homes. 

This SPA is approved effective July 1, 2012. 

If you have any additional questions or require any further assistance, please contact me, or have 
your staff contact James Moreth at (360) 943-0469 or James.Moreth@cms.hhs.gov 

Enclosure 

Sincerely, 

~ed~-r 
Associate Regional Administrator 
Division of Medicaid and Children's Health 

Operations 



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

TO: REGIONAL ADMJNISTRA TOR 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMJNISTRATION 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL {Check One): 

I. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 
12-014 

FORM APPROVED 
OMB NO. 0938-0193 

2. STATE 
Washington 

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE 
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 
July I, 2012 

0 NEW STATE PLAN 0 AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN t8i AMENDMENT 
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU I 0 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT e arate Transmittal or each amendment 

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: 
a. FFY 2012 ($274,000) 
b. FFY 2013 $1,060,087 

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 

Att. 4.19-B page 32 

I 0. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: 

Licensed Boarding Homes & Adult Family Homes Rates 
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): 

0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 
0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 
0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITIAL 

I7. DATE .RECEIVED: 

23. REMARKS: ····· . 

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92) 

OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable): 

Att. 4.19-B page 32 

18] OTHER. AS SPECIFIED; Exempt 



REVISION ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 
Page 32 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

STATE: ________ ~W=A~S=H=IN~G=T~O=N~----------

POLICY AND METHODS USED IN ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR EACH OF THE OTHER 
TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905 (A) OF THE ACT THAT IS INCLUDED IN 
THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN (cont. ) 

XV. Personal Care Services (cont) 

B. Service Rates 

TN# 12-014 
Supersedes 
TN# 12-013 

The fee schedule was last updated July 1, 2012, to be effective for dates of service on and after 
July 1, 2012. The updates to the fee schedule were due to the following : 

• Adjustments to both the non-training and the training portion of the boarding home rate, and 
• Adjustments to the adult family home rate based upon increased training requirements and 

licensing fee 

Effective Jan. 1, 2008, the standard hourly rate for individual-provided personal care is based on 
comparable service units and is determined by the State legislature, based on negotiations between 
the Governor's Office and the union representing the workers. The rate for personal care services 
provided by individual providers consists of provider wages and benefits. Benefits include health 
insurance, training , and industrial insurance. 

The rate for personal care services provided by agencies is based on an hourly unit. The agency rate 
determination corresponds to the rate for individual providers with an additional amount for employer 
functions performed by the agency. 

The rate for personal care provided in boarding homes is based on a per day unit. Each participant is 
assigned to a classification group based on the State's assessment of their personal care needs. The 
daily rate varies depending on the individual 's classification group. The rates are based on 
components for provider staff, operations, and capital costs. The rate paid to residential providers 
does not include room and board. 

The rate for personal care provided in an adult family home is based on a per day unit and is 
determined by the State legislature, based on negotiations between the Governor's Office and the 
union representing Adult Family Homes. 

Approval Date 
JAN 2 9 2012 

Effective Date 07/01/12 


