Washington State Health Care Authority

Public Employees Benefits Board

P.O. Box 42684 e Olympia, Washington 98504-2684
360-725-0440 o TTY 711 e FAX 360-725-0771 ® www.hca.wa.gov/pebb

September 13, 2016

TO: Personnel, Payroll and Insurance Offices of K-12 School Districts, Educational
Service Districts, and Charter Schools

FROM: Amy Corrigan, Manager
PEBB Outreach & Training Team
SUBJECT: Calendar Year 2017 Rates — Tiered - Full Benefits Package

Medical/Dental Insurance

Based on new contracts with the health plans, the revised rates for medical and dental coverage
effective January 1, 2017 are attached. As the employer, you determine the portion of the total
premium your employees are required to pay.

PEBB Annual Open Enroliment

The Public Employees Benefit Board (PEBB) Program open enrollment is November 1 —30. In
October, the PEBB Program will mail the For Your Benefit newsletter to employees at the
address on record or send it electronically to those who subscribe to email subscription. This is
the only notice the PEBB Program will send to employees about open enrollment. Information
will be available on the PEBB Program website at www.hca.wa.gov/pebb before the start of the
PEBB Program open enrollment.

Employees who make an online plan change using My Account will not see a premium rate.
Instead, a pop-up box will prompt them to contact their personnel, payroll or benefits office. To
support their decisions and address the questions they may have, you may want to distribute
information to your employees before the PEBB Program open enrollment starts regarding
premiums they are expected to pay in 2017.

Premium Surcharges

The biennial budget approved by the Legislature requires some members pay a tobacco use and
spousal coverage premium surcharge.

The tobacco use premium surcharge will remain at $25 per month per account in addition to the
monthly premium, regardless of the number of tobacco users in the family.

The spouse or state-registered domestic partner coverage premium surcharge will remain at
S50 per month in addition to the monthly premium for subscribers who cover a spouse or state-
registered domestic partner in PEBB medical insurance where the spouse or state-registered
domestic partner has chosen not to enroll in their own employer-based group health insurance
that is comparable to the Uniform Medical Plan (UMP) Classic.
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Employees who cover a spouse or state-registered domestic partner on their 2017 medical
coverage and who previously attested “Yes”, “No” to question number 6, “No” or did not attest
in 2016 will be required to attest to the spouse or state-registered domestic partner coverage
premium surcharge during the PEBB Program annual open enrollment for 2017 plan year
coverage.

Life and Long-Term Disability (LTD) Insurance

As part of the PEBB Program’s commitment to provide competitive benefits to our members, we
are contracting with MetLife as our new life insurance carrier starting with the 2017 plan year.
The employer paid accidental death and dismemberment benefits will remain at $5,000. All
employees — even those not currently enrolled in supplemental life insurance — will have an
opportunity to enroll in or increase their life insurance up to the new guaranteed issue amount
of $500,000 without medical underwriting. Their new elected coverage will begin on January 1,
2017. More information will be available prior to open enroliment.

Employees’ optional LTD rates will increase effective January 1, 2017. The increase in optional
LTD is because the Claims Fluctuation Reserves (CFR’s) have been subsidizing premiums, but we
no longer have excess funds in the CFRs for subsidies.

The rate schedule for life and LTD insurance is also attached.

Additional Taxable Income for Non-Tax Qualified Dependents

If you have an IRS Section 125 Plan that allows employee premium dollars to be treated as a pre-
tax deduction, a portion of the premium employers pay toward the family’s coverage is
considered taxable income to the employee if the employee has dependents enrolled who do
not qualify as an IRS tax dependent. To assist you, we have included examples of how the state
calculates these amounts for state agency personnel [Tables 1-7]. These tables should only be
used as a template in developing calculations that are based on your employer contribution
rate.

If you have questions about the rates, please contact me at 360-725-0826, or
amy.corrigan@hca.wa.gov

Attachments

c: Stephen Lee
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2017 PEBB Rate Book

K-12 School Districts, ESDs and Charter School Active Tiered Rates for Full Benefits Package with

Premium Surcharge Table

. Subscriber and | Subscriber and .
Plan Name Subscriber Spouse Child(ren) Full Family
Group Health Classic $816.88 $1,488.68 $1,320.73 $1,992.53
Group Health Value $739.17 $1,333.26 $1,184.74 $1,778.83
Group Health CDHP $703.64 $1,255.70 $1,132.27 $1,626.00
Group Health SoundChoice $716.16 $1,287.24 $1,144.47 $1,715.55
Kaiser Permanente Classic $801.46 $1,457.84 $1,293.75 $1,950.13
Kaiser CDHP $705.19 $1,258.30 $1,134.61 $1,629.39
Uniform Medical Plan Classic $764.01 $1,382.94 $1,228.21 $1,847.14
Uniform Medical Plan CDHP $703.27 $1,254.96 $1,131.62 $1,624.98
UMP Plus $735.85 $1,326.62 $1,178.93 $1,769.70
Medical Waived $145.08 | $145.08 | $145.08 | $145.08 |
Surcharges
Tobacco Use Surcharge $25.00 $25.00 $25.00 $25.00
Spouse Waiver (AV) Surcharge $0.00 $50.00 $0.00 $50.00




Washington State Health Care Authority
2017 PEBB Rate Book
PEBB Life and AD&D Rates Paid to Plan and Charged to Subscribers

Employee Basic* |Month|y Cost: $3.96 |
Employee Optional Spouse/Registered Domestic Partner Life Child Life
Monthly Cost for Each $1,000 of Coverage Monthly Cost for Each $1,000 of Coverage Monthly Cost for Each $1,000 of Coverage
(Available in $10,000 increments) (Up to 50% of Employee Optionall in $5,000 increments) (Available in $5,000 increments)

Age Non-Smoker Smoker Age Non-Smoker Smoker Age 2 weeks - 26 years | $0.124
<25 $0.028 $0.037 <25 $0.028 $0.037

25-29 $0.031 $0.043 25-29 $0.031 $0.043

30-34 $0.034 $0.057 30-34 $0.034 $0.057

35-39 $0.043 $0.066 35-39 $0.043 $0.066

40-44 $0.064 $0.073 40-44 $0.064 $0.073

45-49 $0.092 $0.111 45-49 $0.092 $0.111

50-54 $0.143 $0.170 50-54 $0.143 $0.170

55-59 $0.268 $0.317 55-59 $0.268 $0.317

60-64 $0.411 $0.482 60-64 $0.411 $0.482

65-69 $0.758 $0.929 65-69 $0.758 $0.929

70+ $1.131 $1.510 70+ $1.131 $1.510

Employee Optional AD&D Spouse/Registered Domestic Partner AD&D Child AD&D
Monthly Cost for Each $1,000 of Coverage Monthly Cost for Each $1,000 of Coverage Monthly Cost for Each $1,000 of Coverage
(Available in $10,000 increments) (Available in $10,000 increments) (Available in $5,000 increments)
Cost per $1,000 | $0.019 Cost per $1,000 | $0.019 Cost per $1,000 | $0.016

* Represents premium paid to Plan

For State Actives, Basic coverage is paid by the employer.

For Actives from Employer Groups, ESDs, and K-12 School Districts Accepting the Full Benefits Package,

the premium for asic coverage is included in the rates for the selected medical plan.

Coverage is not provided to Actives from Employer Groups, ESDs and K-12 School Districts Accepting Medical Only Package.
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PEBB Long Term Disability Plan - Rates Paid to Plan and Charged to Subscribers

Basic Plan for Actives | Monthly Cost*: $2.10 |
Optional Plan
TIAA/CREF or High
/CREF or Higher | too s, & other
- . Education Academic .
Waiting Period . Retirement Plan
Retirement Plan
Employees
Employees
30 days 2.60% 2.06%
60 days 1.32% 1.09%
90 days 0.72% 0.60%
120 days 0.42% 0.36%
180 days 0.32% 0.28%
240 days 0.30% 0.27%
300 days 0.28% 0.25%
360 days 0.27% 0.24%

* Represents premium paid to plan only.
For State Actives, Basic Plan coverage is funded by the state.
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Additional Taxable Income for Non-Tax Qualified Dependents

Table 1: Employer Share Medical and Dental
2017 Monthly State Premium Contribution for Medical and Dental for Active Employees
Additional Taxable Income for Non-Tax Qualified Dependent Coverage

Subscriber's or
Partner and
MEDICAL AND DENTAL PLAN Partner* Partner's Child(ren)*
Child(ren)*
All Medical Plans $560.00 $439.00 $999.00

Table 2: Employer Share Dental Only

Sample chart for dental only enrollment-taxable amount for dependents

Subscriber's or Partner and
DENTAL PLAN Partner* Partner's Child(ren)*
Child(ren)*
All Dental Plans $45.00 $45.00 $90.00

2017 Monthly State Contribution for Medicare Retirees (monthly state subsidy)**
Additional taxable income for non-tax qualified domestic partners

Group Health Medicare Only $150.00
Kaiser Permanente Classic $150.00
Uniform Medical Plan Classic $150.00
Plan F Retired $105.00
Plan F Disabled $150.00

*Premiums displayed are rounded to the nearest dollar, consistent with IRS tax reporting
**Retiree subsidy is limited to 50% of the total premium paid to the health plan by state law
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Authority

State and Higher Education Active Employee Monthly Contributions (Deductions) for Non-Tax Qualified Dependents

Table 3: Total Monthly Employee Contribution Owed for All Coverage (Pre-tax and post-tax combined)

Subscriber

Subscriber

Plan Name Subscriber and Spouse | and Child(ren) Full Family
Group Health Classic $147.00 $304.00 $257.00 $414.00
Group Health Value $69.00 $148.00 $121.00 $200.00
Group Health CDHP $25.00 $60.00 $44.00 $79.00
Group Health SoundChoice $46.00 $102.00 $81.00 $137.00
Kaiser Permanente Classic $131.00 $272.00 $229.00 $370.00
Kaiser CDHP $26.00 $62.00 $46.00 $82.00
Uniform Medical Plan Classic $94.00 $198.00 $165.00 $269.00
Uniform Medical Plan CDHP $25.00 $60.00 $44.00 $79.00
Uniform Medical Plan ACP $66.00 $142.00 $116.00 $192.00
Table 4: Post-Tax Partner Share for "Subscriber and Spouse" Tier Table 6: Post Tax Partner and Child(ren) Share for "Full Family" Tier
Plan Name Subscriber Subscriber Partner Plan Name Full Family Subscriber Parf:ner and

and Spouse Child(ren)
Group Health Classic $304.00 $147.00 $157.00 Group Health Classic $414.00 $147.00 $267.00
Group Health Value $148.00 $69.00 $79.00 Group Health Value $200.00 $69.00 $131.00
Group Health CDHP $60.00 $25.00 $35.00 Group Health CDHP $79.00 $25.00 $54.00
Group Health SoundChoice $102.00 $46.00 $56.00 Group Health SoundChoice $137.00 $46.00 $91.00
Kaiser Permanente Classic $272.00 $131.00 $141.00 Kaiser Permanente Classic $370.00 $131.00 $239.00
Kaiser CDHP $62.00 $26.00 $36.00 Kaiser CDHP $82.00 $26.00 $56.00
Uniform Medical Plan Classic $198.00 $94.00 $104.00 Uniform Medical Plan Classic $269.00 $94.00 $175.00
Uniform Medical Plan CDHP $60.00 $25.00 $35.00 Uniform Medical Plan CDHP $79.00 $25.00 $54.00
Uniform Medical Plan ACP $142.00 $66.00 $76.00 Uniform Medical Plan ACP $192.00 $66.00 $126.00
Table 5: Post Tax Partner Share for "Full Family" Tier Table 7: Post Tax Partner's Child(ren) Share for "Subscriber and Child(ren)" Tier

i Subscriber and Subscriber ) Partner's

Plan Name Full Family Child(ren) Partner Plan Name and Child(ren) Subscriber Children
Group Health Classic $414.00 $257.00 $157.00 Group Health Classic $257.00 $147.00 $110.00
Group Health Value $200.00 $121.00 $79.00 Group Health Value $121.00 $69.00 $52.00
Group Health CDHP $79.00 $44.00 $35.00 Group Health CDHP $44.00 $25.00 $19.00
Group Health SoundChoice $137.00 $81.00 $56.00 Group Health SoundChoice $81.00 $46.00 $35.00
Kaiser Permanente Classic $370.00 $229.00 $141.00 Kaiser Permanente Classic $229.00 $131.00 $98.00
Kaiser CDHP $82.00 $46.00 $36.00 Kaiser CDHP $46.00 $26.00 $20.00
Uniform Medical Plan Classic $269.00 $165.00 $104.00 Uniform Medical Plan Classic $165.00 $94.00 $71.00
Uniform Medical Plan CDHP $79.00 $44.00 $35.00 Uniform Medical Plan CDHP $44.00 $25.00 $19.00
Uniform Medical Plan ACP $192.00 $116.00 $76.00 Uniform Medical Plan ACP $116.00 $66.00 $50.00
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